Cycling Sports

This was, he did not even dare to dream of: Wout van Aert outclassed world in a time trial in Dauphine

6569634550d4b5ae75ddfb6d41150efe - This was, he did not even dare to dream of: Wout van Aert outclassed world in a time trial in Dauphine

Wout van Aert did, to everyone’s surprise, the individual time trial in the Dauphiné stage win. 24-year-old fellow-countryman of the Team’s Jumbo-Visma was in the hills of the course 26.1 km away in Summer, more than one size too big for this world, as Tom Dumoulin and Tejay van Garderen, and picked out the best and the biggest victory on the road in his career. With the victory, van Aert, it was, however, partially overshadowed by a serious fall, with Chris Froome, who is also the Tour de France and is on his stomach, writing. Dylan Teuns has lost in the time trial, then back to his yellow jersey by four seconds, with Adam Yates.

It was Yves Lampaert already noticed that a lot Of Aert over the last few weeks in the Sierra Nevada, has a lot on his time trial bike, been trained and had. “I feel some intense working on some issues”, announced Van Aert, last week in our paper. “Now, can I then work in the past it was more difficult. Jumbo Visma has the equipment and know-how. Before I hoogtestage time, we have, in my position, what will be tuned. “I just want to check whether category I, or it is something that I continue to need to be set up or not,” he asked himself aloud, wondering.

Well, the answer is after, representing an increase of 26.1 hills for miles around and Summer was clear. Van Aert came in, saw it, and crushed the opposition. The referentiechrono of former world time trial victory as Tom Dumoulin rode to green jersey, Aert, simply, in bits and pieces: 18 seconds, halfway through, with 47 seconds to cross the finish line. Here you are. And then came Tejay Van Garderen, it’s still a little close to Van Aert. The Americans finished in second place at 31 seconds from the belgian. Only two riders are allowed in the hole Of the Aert in less than a minute to keep Van Garderen, Dumoulin, Kruijswijk, Buchmann, Adam Yates and Julian Alaphilippe. It says it all about the dominance of the former world champion in cyclo-cross, which is his own performance as to be scarcely able to believe it (read more).

For Van Aert, it is this is the first time in the world tour, the high point of a droomweek, in which he was told that he was, for the first time in the Tour de France can go, and he is unexpectedly a third, and the second from the first, and the third stage of the Dauphine. The “kempenaar” is now ninth in the overall standings, and is the carrier of the green and white jersey. One step further after his brilliant performances in the spring classics. “I think that’s Campenaerts a little bit of fear is going to start in the Belgian championship time trial,” said Van Aert, with a smile, with Hugo Coorevits, the guy at the finish line.

Dylan Teuns was also a good looking chrono and it was still at 1 minute, 24 seconds to van Aert. The samplers of the Bahrain-Merida lost, however, in the four seconds it is on for Adam Yates and it is going to be the Briton in the yellow jersey of the belgian about it. Teuns is now in second place in the overall standings. With a-minute drive away, in six seconds, Yates, and Fuglsang, at seven seconds, with the top-four is now on a postage stamp, from each other. Teuns was subsequently to be very unhappy about the loss of the yellow jersey. “Four seconds or more? I don’t know what I’ve got to leave,” he said to Hugo Coorevits, the guy at the finish line.

The stunning victory of Wout van Aert was on Wednesday, however, a bit overshadowed by a heavy fall of Chris Froome during the reconnaissance of the tt course. The four-time tour winner broke the course of his femur and needs to have a cross on his / her participation in the Tour de France is about three weeks old (learn more).

That stage

1. Wout van Aert (Bel)/TJV)

2. Tejay van Garderen (Usa/EF1) at 0:31

3. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/SUN) 0:47

4. Steven Kruijswijk (Netherlands/TJV) at 0:49

5. Emanuel Buchmann (Germany/BOH) at 0:51

6. Adam Yates (GBr/MTS) at 0:56

7. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra/DQT) at 0:59

8. Nils Politt (Germany/TKA) at 01:05 pm

9. Jakob Fuglsang (Den/AST) at 01:07 am

10. Rémi Cavagna (Fra/DQT) 01:10

11. Richie Porte (Aus/TFS) 01:19

12. Thibaut Pinot (Fra/GFC) 01:21

13. Alberto Bettiol (Ita/EF1) 01:22

14. Dylan Teuns (Bel)/TBM) 01:24

15. Damien Howson (Australia/MTS), 01:24

16. Joey Rosskopf (Usa/cash conversion cycle (CCC) at 01:26

17. Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz/AST) at 01:30

18. Nairo Quintana (Col/MOV) at 01:36

19. Wout Poels (the Netherlands/INS) 01:36

20. Daniel Martin (Ire/UAD) 01:38


1. Adam Yates (GBr/MTS)

3. Tejay van Garderen (Usa/EF1) at 0:06

4. Jakob Fuglsang (Den/AST) at 0:07

5. Steven Kruijswijk (Netherlands/TJV) at 0:24

6. Thibaut Pinot (Fra/GFC) at 0:25

7. Emanuel Buchmann (Germany/BOH) at 0:26

8. Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz/AST) at 0:30

9. Wout van Aert (Bel)/TJV) at 0:30

10. Nairo Quintana (Col/MOV) at 0:40