Cycling Sports

GP Marcel Kint: Bryan Coquard’s sprint to victory in openingsmanche Bingoal Cycling Cup

755635bc4e0914790862f41afc120420 - GP Marcel Kint: Bryan Coquard's sprint to victory in openingsmanche Bingoal Cycling Cup

Bryan Coquard (Vital Concept-B&B Hotels), the 72nd edition of the GP Marcel Kint, which starts in Kortrijk and finish after 174,8 kilometers in Zwevegem, won. The 27-year-old Frenchman was the fastest in a bunch sprint. Nacer Bouhanni, last year’s winner, was second for Alfdan The Decker.

Coquard won earlier this season also been a stage in the etoile de Bessèges, a stage in the Circuit of the Sarthe, and a ride in the four days of Dunkirk. The GP Marcel Kint was the first race of the Bingoal Cycling cup. Coquard is the first leader in this regelmatigheidscriterium.

After 11 kilometres of formed a leading group with Yves Coolen, Timothy Stevens, the Dutchman Justin Timmermans, the Dane Andreas Lorentz Kron and the Brit Louis Rose-Davies. The five got a maximum lead of four minutes from the peloton in the laps.

It was the French teams Vital Concept-B&B Hotels, Cofidis and Total-Direct Energy, who set the pace in the large group gradually came up. With still 50 kilometers to go, gave the men of Corendon-Circus for a hefty lel. The peloton fragmented even and it also took a while for everything re-integrated. Just after the start of the last two local laps, each of which is 20,4 kilometers, muisde Tom Devriendt just beneath. On a sloping piece splashed the pack again and was Devriendt eaten by the first part of the large group.

The five early escapees were allowed the last round to speak with a lead of 1:05 on an elongated peloton. Dries De Bondt repte is located 7 kilometres from the end, on his own, to the leaders. The large group followed a handful of seconds. De Bondt counterde a breakdown of Andreas Lorentz Kron, and this duo should – with a very slight advantage -so the last two miles to start.

The two were there in the last kilometer to the effort. In the ensuing bunch sprint was Frenchman Bryan Coquard is the fastest. He thus succeeds his compatriot Nacer Bouhanni on the hall of fame.

The next round of the Bingoal Cycling Cup is on Thursday the 30th of may, the Circuit de Wallonie in and around Charleroi.