Cycling Sports

Alaphilippe again wins Walloon Arrow

7054e84ff606d9fd6abb4d18169d233b - Alaphilippe again wins Walloon Arrow

Favorite Alaphilippe, the Walloon Arrow won. Fuglsang was second.

For the sixth year in a row, the Wall of Huy about profit and loss in the Walloon Arrow. Therein showed the Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe yet again his great class. In the wheel of another Jacob Fuglsang – the two protagonists of the last Amstel Gold Race – ran the Frenchman to his second consecutive victory, Fuglsang and Ulissi. Bjorg Lambrecht was handsome fourth.


The start was promising: a five threw themselves in the early breakaway of the day with one fellow countryman, Kenneth Van Rooy (Vlaanderen – Baloise). The peloton had initially committed so that the five quickly a lead of more than five minutes together knew cycling. But there was wind and that inspired Deceuninck – Quick Step immediately to the pulling of a waaiertje. Among others Jelle Vanendert did initially surprise

but everything ran fairly quickly back together again.

With three local laps and three climbs – côte d Ereffe, côte de Cherave and the infamous Wall of Huy – there was still the space was to course. The front had Kenneth Van Rooy was the first role to resolve and we were still three leaders.

The peloton in the first ascent of the Wall of Huy, mixed by Pieter Serry with Julian Alaphilippe carefully in the wheel. A group of tegenaanvallers – with the Italian Caruso as the greatest name – had between the three leaders and the latest escapees placed. That was the Dutchman Koen Bouwman and the Americans Rosskopf and Carpenter.

Astana and Lotto want to race hard

Deceuninck-Quick Step kept the match check but that was not the plan of the strong Astana. The team of leaders Fuglsang-Lutsenko did everything to the last hour of the contest. Spanish champion Gorka Izagirre was the first of the trenches sent in, he got the company of, among others, Slagter, Marczynski, Haas and a few other strongholds. But Movistar, in the service of world champion, Alejandro Valverde, did not commit.

The descent to the last climb of the Wall caused damage to Adam Yates, Domenico Pozzovivo and Roman Kreuziger as the main victims of a crash at high speed. Front shot of the three leaders for the last time the Wall, with three quarters of a minute ahead. Their story was almost sung, Joey Rosskopf offered the longest resistance.

In the peloton caused Bjorg Lambrecht for the acceleration. The pocket climber from team Lotto-Soudal was clearly the command the game is hard to make. Just past the Wall of

Huy was also for Rosskopf the flight out. Little by little formed a new breakaway of some twenty riders who have already Gorka Izagirre but also, Wout Poels, Luis Leon Sanchez, Dylan Teuns and Tim Wellens.

The peloton tore under the impulse of Movistar which also Alaphilippe benefited. Lotto-Soudal continued to race hard with again an attack of the Pool Marczysnki but the teams of the favourites watched. A second attempt at the Pole had more success but he had no one in his wheel so that this attempt is a measure for nothing, and feared to be. Alaphilippe took his remaining team mates Mas and Devenyns resolutely to the work.

The Wall decides

The penultimate climb of the côte de Cherave than but: who would dare to Alaphilippe under pressure to convert or when everyone felt strongly enough to put on the Wall to make a difference? Marczynski was joined by Mohoric, the platoon followed in fifteen seconds. Mas held in the service of Alaphilippe the pace tight, the escapees were quickly picked up. The number two from the Vuelta, kept the pace so tight that attacks became impossible. Also Bora Hansgrohe wanted the pace doesn’t let down in the service of Max Schachmann.

The Wall had, therefore, again to bring the decision, though it was a greatly thinned peloton that presented itself at the foot of the final ascent of the Wall. For the sixth year in a row, had the Wall of Huy, to decide on profit and loss.

Just like last year, Alaphilippe is the strongest. Another victory for the team of Patrick Lefevere. And again a victory for Alaphilippe, who earlier this season the Milan – Sanremo winner.

Leave a Comment