Cycling Sports

Philippe Gilbert sprints to first seizoenszege in Tour of Provence

967213e4790ca6b3cd5237b0d933f7ff - Philippe Gilbert sprints to first seizoenszege in Tour of Provence

Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) has Saturday the third stage in the Tour of the Provence (cat. 2.1) won. After 181.1 total km from Aubagne to Le Castellet showed the 36-year-old, as Also in a sprint with 23 riders the Letlander Toms Skujuns and the Frenchman Tony Gallopin. The 31-year-old Spaniard Gorka Izagirre (Astana) remains the leader. He has two seconds on Thibaut Pinot and his compatriot Gallopin.

The broken trail included five laps of ten kilometers, the Côte du Brûlat, a collaboration of three kilometers at an average gradient of seven percent, and the finish line on the Formula 1 circuit Paul Ricard in Le Castellet, near Marseille.

Only after the first intermediate sprint on the track, four riders managed to drive away from the pack. Quentin Jauregui, Michael Gogl, Kasper Asgreen and Matthias Brändle were soon in the company of Dries De Bondt, Anthony Maldonado, Ramunas Navardauskas, Lennard Kämna and Matteo Moschetti. The escapees were given a thick three-minute bonus of the peloton.

With fifty kilometres to go and pulled Groupama-FDJ group on the ribbon, in the function of team leader Pinot. Team Sky reported on the front post. Within the shortest of times and broke the peloton in two. The leaders saw their lead melt as snow for the sun. Navardauskas and Moschetti were the first that the role had to solve during the penultimate climb of the Côte du Brûlat.

On the final climb of the day also went to the final leaders for the axe. Jauregui showed himself to be the bravest by just to struggle. Damien Gaudu then drew in the attack and in his wake was a select group with names like Philippe Gilbert, Guillaume Martin, Rudy Molard and Thibaut Pinot. With three Frenchmen was Groupama-FDJ in the lead. Pinot and Molard, went in the attack to that advantage, but did not in their intent, and also attempts of Edward Dunbar and Jimmy Janssens turned to nothing.

In the bunch sprint showed Philippe Gilbert is the strongest. The world champion of 2012, sprinted on the highway Skujins and Gallopin smooth out the wheel. Leader Izagirre finished fifth.

Leave a Comment