Cycling Sports

Adam Yates wins the queen’s stage in the Tour of Valencia, Ion Izagirre new leader

ffc1f4aa7ec00ae76198b62a9b7b4128 - Adam Yates wins the queen's stage in the Tour of Valencia, Ion Izagirre new leader

Adam Yates has the queen’s stage in the Tour of Valencia (Spa/2.1) on his name. The Brit Mitchelton-Scott picked up on the Alcala-Alcocebre the victory for world champion Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Pello Bilbao (Astana). Ion Izagirre (Astana) was fourth and takes the leader’s jersey from Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data). First countryman was Dylan Teuns in eighth place. However, he falls back in the standings from third to fifth place on 18 count of Izagirre.

It took about three quarters of an hour before the flight took shape in Valencia. Three riders would eventually managed to escape the peloton: Silvan Dillier (AG2R), Joao Rodrigues (W52-FC Porto) and Diego Rubio (Burgos-BH), wearer of the mountains jersey. Maximum allowed to the pack them a five minute head start. Dimension Data is checked for their leader Edvald Boasson Hagen to the suit, Rubio picked up at the front of the bergpunten on, but would first have to solve the.

The duo went onwards, final was only Dillier still on the path and he would be only 2.2 km from the end gripped by Merhawi Kudus from the peloton was weggesprongen after Alejandro Valverde just before that first prick had handed out. Leader Boasson Hagen was a first-time fix, but picked up later again.

A group of favourites separated themselves on the steepest stretch of uphill under the impulse of the pounding of Adam Yates. He got only Ion Izagirre, Pello Bilbao, Sergio Higuita, Alejandro Valverde, Jack Haig, Dylan Teuns, Martin, Jesus Herrada and Ben Hermans. Just below the vod of 1 km had to Hermans hole, the front was the pace. It was Herrada who the sprint uphill far launched. Too early, Yates closed the hole, stopped the wheel, and fell afterwards in the slotmeters. He picked up the victory, the ultimate acceleration of Valverde came too late. He had to settle with a second place. Izagirre is the new leader with 7 to count bonus on Valverde and Bilbao. Teuns was eighth and fifth in the standings on 18 count of Yates. Ben Hermans finished as tenth.

Sunday is the final stage in the program, a flat ride from Paterna to Valencia about 88 km and run for the sprinters.

Leave a Comment