Basketball Sports

Yellow Tigers know opponents in group stage of european CHAMPIONSHIP volleyball

The Belgian volleybalvrouwen play at the european CHAMPIONSHIP against host Poland, Italy, Ukraine, Portugal and Slovenia. That is the result of the draw Wednesday in the Turkish Istanbul.

The european CHAMPIONSHIPS will run from August 23rd to september 8, played. For the first time, there is 24 instead of 16 countries. The tournament is in four countries: Turkey, Poland, Hungary and Slovakia.

The host countries were reekshoofden to draw. Belgium is seventh in the European ranking, and takes in the Polish town Lodz, the numbers 3 (Italy), 8 (Poland), 15 (Ukraine), 20 (Slovenia) and 22 (Portugal). The first four teams of each pool by thrusting to the eighth-finals.

The Belgian volleyvrouwen, who are coached by Gert Vande Broek, cited in the 2013 European bronze. In 2015, they were in their own country sixth. During the last european CHAMPIONSHIP, in 2017 in Georgia and Azerbaijan, ended the Tigers disappointing last in their group.

Composition of the groups:

. Group A (in Turkey): Turkey, Serbia, Bulgaria, France, Finland, Greece

. Group B (Poland, Lodz), Poland, Italy, BELGIUM, Ukraine, Portugal, Slovenia

. Group C (in Hungary): Hungary, the Netherlands, Croatia, Azerbaijan, Romania, Estonia

. Group D (in Slovakia): Slovakia, Russia, Germany, belarus, Spain, Switzerland

Leave a Comment