Cycling Sports

Twenty UCI teams taking part in the 14th edition of Omloop het Nieuwsblad for women

6e4ae918b6bd13609755286a7cc8aba0 - Twenty UCI teams taking part in the 14th edition of Omloop het Nieuwsblad for women

The 14th edition of the Omloop het Nieuwsblad for women, which takes place on Saturday, march 2, can boast with an impressive number of participants. Category 1.1 race will be in Gent from the start with no less than 20 UCI teams and four clubploegen. The finish line is this year on the Onderwijslaan in Ninove. The cyclists have then 123,3 kilometers afgemaald.

Not less than 45 teams applied to take part in the Belgian opening classic. The organisers have kept 20 UCI teams and four clubploegen. The Belgian UCI-teams are Health Mate, Doltcini-Van Eyck and Lotto Soudal Ladies. At the clubploegen come Isorex-No Aqua, Kitchens Redant and Multum Accountants to the start in their own country.

The Omloop het Nieuwsblad for women this year is a piece of pithy made with ten slopes and five cobblestones. There are two slopes and two cobblestone sections more than in the previous edition. The starting signal is still on the Ghent Emile Clauslaan. Through the Tenbosse and the Eikenmolen drive the women to the same final as that of the men, with the duo of Wall of Geraardsbergen and the Bosberg in the lead role.

In 2018, took the victory to the Danish Christina Siggaard. She took the when of the American, Alexis, Ryan, and the Italian Maria Giulia Confalonieri. Best Belgian in 2018 was the belgian champion Jolien D’hoore, with an eighth place. Never managed a Belgian rider managed the opening classic in their own country to win.

The participating teams:

UCI teams: Health Mate, Doltcini-Van Eyck, Lotto Soudal Ladies, Valcar-BPM, Boels-Dolmans, Bigla, Pull-Segafredo, Be Pink, BTC City Ljbuljana, Hitec, Movistar, Canyon-SRAM, Mitchelton-Scott, Alé Cipollini, Parkhotel Valkenburg, Team Sunweb, World Cycling Centre, FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine, CCC-Liv, Virtu Cycling.

Clubploegen: Isorex-No Aqua, Kitchens Redant, Multum Accountants and Rogelli-Cyproc.

The slopes:

Leberg (41 km), Wolvenberg (53 km), Molenberg (66 km), Rekelberg (79 km), the Berendries (84 km), fox’s cave (86 km), Tenbosse (91 km), Eikenmolen (93 km), the Muur van Geraardsbergen (106 km), Bosberg (110 km).

Leave a Comment