Cycling Sports

Crystal Bike for women baanwielrenster Nicky Degrendele

0170b3da77fa3562d2db9461f01398c0 - Crystal Bike for women baanwielrenster Nicky Degrendele

Nicky Degrendele has Wednesday, the Crystal Bike for women won a prize for the third time was awarded by the newspaper The Latest News. The baanwielrenster scored 648 points, 36 more than Sanne Cant, who just as last year, peace must take second place. Jolien D’hoore was third with 574 points. Simplon Michiels scored in total 278 points, Shari Bossuyt completed the top five with 198 points.

The Crystal Bike got over the years some of the “little brothers”. Thus, since 1994, the Younger of the Year and since 2000 the Team manager/team Leader/Coach of the Year elected. Also provides the general public via the website, who as a Helper of the Year the Crystal drop of sweat to receive.

Since 2016, there is also a Crystal Bike for women, of which D’hoore is the first laureate was. Also last year she was with the trophy home. This year is not the case, the honor is reserved for the 22-year-old Nicky Degrendele. Who wrote in Apeldoorn history by becoming the first Belgian world champion in the keirin. In the U23 she conquered European gold in the keirin and in the european CHAMPIONSHIP elite in Glasgow she conquered silver medal in the discipline. Furthermore, she won several tournaments in the keirin in Japan, the birthplace of the discipline.

Also in the junior riders, there was no surprise. Two-time world champion in the junior Remco Evenepoel crowned themselves the winner, with nearly double the points on the second in the results, Bjorg Lambrecht, who for silver reed at the recent world CHAMPIONSHIPS in Innsbruck in the blessings and promises of his first profzege posted in the third stage of the Tour des Fjords. Lambrecht won both in 2016, as a 2017 at the youth, the Crystal Bike.

The prize of best team leader/manager/coach of the year went to Patrick Lefevere, his Quick-Step Floors 73 victories recorded last season. It is for the West-Flemish are already his sixth Crystal Bike in his career, all he had to the first trophy, however, share with Johan Bruyneel in 2000. He took it this time for his own directeur sportif Tom Steels and Kevin De Weert.

The helper of the year, or the Crystal drop of sweat, elected by the public through the website of The Latest News, went again to the someone of Quick Step Floors: Tim Declercq, last year’s second, won with 44 percent of the votes, for team-mate Iljo Keisse (30 %) and Xandro Meurisse (9 %) of Wanty-Groupe Gobert. Last year dragged Julien Vermote, then also as the team of Lefevere, the trophy in the wait.

Leave a Comment