Cycling Sports

Yves Lampaert voted Flandrien of the year

Yves Lampaert voted Flandrien of the year

Yves Lampaert has been voted Flandrien of 2018. After five consecutive triumphs for Greg Van Avermaet, the East-Flemish rider its leading position in the Belgian peloton to give it to the West-Flemish Lampaert. That year the European time-trial champion Victor Campenaerts and outgoing Flandrien Of the Team.

Five candidates remained after the jurylunch at the end of september. That there were exceptional six. After Victor Campenaerts at the world CHAMPIONSHIPS surprising bronze medal in the time trial, found the editors of The Newspaper, that the election is organised, that also Campenaerts a place among the candidates earned. And it was that Campenaerts that his best friend Lampaert finally still the closest approached. All the difference, ultimately, is clear: Lampaert took it with more than a hundred points ahead of his first pursuer.

With Lampaert winner gets the boerenjaar of Quick Step Floors, a festive closing ceremony. Lampaert crowned in Binche to Belgian champion and won earlier in the spring already for the second time in a row in Dwars door Vlaanderen. Add to that a world title ploegentijdrijden with Quick Step in , a strong performance in the E3 Harelbeke and some notable stages in the Tour de France, third in Roubaix, the last attacker on the Champs d’Elysees – and it is clear that Lampaert are trophy more than earned. His fellow riders ruled the same way.

Sanne Cant

In the women, there was also and again a triumph for Sanne Cant. The Campine followed himself as world champion in the field, and that was enough to with big difference to win Nicky Degrendele and Jolien D’hoore. For Cant was the second consecutive victory, the second time also that a veldrijdster the extracts of the competitors of the road and the piste.

In the cx, there was the eternal struggle between Wout van Aert and Mathieu van der Poel, the world champion versus the ‘alleswinnaar’. And ultimately, it is the ‘alleswinnaar’ which is on the longest end has drawn, already amounted to the difference between the two tenors just six points.

Of Course, Remco

Finally, there were four additional trophies awarded. Thomas De Gendt may, one year long, the maniac of the profpeloton call, Siebe Deweirdt was named best newcomer, Stan Dewulf, if the trophy of promise claim. But the most attention went obviously to Remco Evenepoel, the eighteen-year-old supertalent that last season in the juniors just about all won what there is to win fell, including the world championships in the time trial and on the road. Evenepoel stores the beloftencategorie about and the next season all-pro under the wing of Patrick Lefevere.

Results The Newspaper Flandrien 2018

1. Yves Lampaert 427 points
2. Victor Campenaerts 311 points
3. Greg Van Avermaet 295 points
4. Tim Wellens 264 points
5. Thomas De Gendt 255 points
6. Tiesj Benoot 254 points

Other winners

The Flandrienne 2018: Sanne Cant
Best Promise 2018: Stan Dewulf
Best Junior 2018: Remco Evenepoel
Best Newcomer 2018: Siebe Deweirdt
Maniac 2018: Thomas De Gendt

Leave a Comment