Cycling Sports

Just one more to go: Quick Step Floors equals eighteen-year-old record with new victory

There was long talk about it, but Quick Step Floors is now very close to an improvement of a ploegrecord. Alvaro Hodeg won the fifth stage in the Tour of Turkey and thus brought victory number 71 of the cycling year, matching the old record from 2000. It was called team Mapei-Quick Step.

Alvaro Hodeg was earlier this season all the best in the Bredene-Handzame Classic, the openingsetappe of the Tour of Catalonia, was eindlaureaat of the Hammerseries, won the first stage of the Adriatica Ionica Race, the first stage of the Tour of Germany and the third stage in the Tour of Poland. Nathan Haas, at the start of the fifth stage in fourth position on 10 seconds of leader Lutsenko, picked up in the first bonificatiesprint two seconds back on the Kazach. A little further were the Aimé De Gendt, the Turk Onur Balkan, the Russian Nikolay Trusov, and the Portuguese Rafael Trip with Amaro Antunes for the early and long flight made the. Aimé De Gendt picked up along the way, most of the points for the mountain classification.

Behind the five escapees took care of the men of the Astana team, with leader, Alexey Lutsenko in their ranks, the tempo. Gradually decreased the lead of the five escapees. Onur Balkan, drew in his own path for the ‘beautysprint’ and grabbed the full loot. With 9 miles ahead, were his former companions were caught by the main group. Balkans remained still as tegenpruttelen but with six kilometres from the finish was his solotocht instantly.

In full final put Zdenek Stybar are for Iljo Keisse, Miximiliano Richeze and Alvaro Hodeg. Hodeg came in the last 200 meters perfectly out of the wheel of Richeze and picked up the victory for John Degenkolb. Nathan Haas was third, picks up so again what bonificatieseconden and is now 4 seconds behind leader Lutsenko. For Quick Step Floors is the winning number 71, matching the record from 2000. Can the boys in blue there is still one bijprikken and the record break? So close to the end of the season will certainly quickly be done!

– Rash –

1. Alvaro Hodeg (Col/QST) the 135.7 km in 3u15:12 (avg. 41.711067 km/h)

2. John Degenkolb (Ger/TFS) at 0:00

3. Nathan Haas (Aus/TKA) 0:00

4. Sam Bennett (Ipr/BOH) 0:00

5. Christophe Noppe (Call/SVB) 0:00

6. Edward Theuns (Bel/SUN) 0:00

7. Szymon Sajnok (Pol/CCC) 0:00

8. Maximiliano Richeze (Arg/QST) 0:00

9. Alexander Porsev (Rus/CST) 0:00

10. Simone Consonni (Ita/UAD) 0:00

Leave a Comment