Football

Robin Van Persie after the red: ’No intent to hurt him to do’

The captain of Feyenoord got a red from referee Serdar Gözübüyük for a tackle on the ankles of Max Clark. Van Persie, who, shortly before, from a free kick the winning hit was made, announced already to a possible settlement proposal anyway.

“It was a tackle on the ball, but I was a little late,” said Van Persie at FOX Sports. “If an attacker with a tackle, will see that there is always something different. I held my leg in, and had no intention to hurt him to do so, or with straight leg to get. I schampte him only, there was only light contact. This can never be red. I’m going to go 100 percent certain to appeal against it.”

Van Persie was happy with his free-kick that look beautiful in the sky. “I hit the ball nice and good. Then you need a little bit of luck that the keeper just that bit to the wrong angle and he did.”

Leave a Comment