Cycling Sports

Dennis outstanding in the Vuelta time trial, red sweater Simon Yates does another good thing

a44169f1bfa4e45702dee497371261f4 - Dennis outstanding in the Vuelta time trial, red sweater Simon Yates does another good thing

Rohan Dennis after the prologue, now, the long individual time trial of the Vuelta won. The Australian of BMC was outstanding on the 32 kilometre undulating course between Santillana and Torrelavega, and blew up the collected competition – including our disappointing compatriot Victor Campenaerts – all gone. Red sweater Simon Yates ran again on his closest pursuers, and may in poleposition the last straight line of the Vuelta. The Dutchman Steven Kruijswijk did the best thing and jumps, thanks to a strong chronorit about Quintana and Angel Lopez to third place.

“It is a match with Rohan Dennis, but I fear just too short to come”, said Victor Campenaerts yesterday to our reporter in Spain. “Given how Dennis in the prologue tekeerging? If I get within thirty seconds of the end of him, then I performed well. I end with the first three, then that’s okay. Anything less is, make a note I do as well.”

Unfortunately for Campenaerts. It was Tuesday, a twelfth place in the final result. At 1 minute and 18 seconds behind winner Rohan Dennis. Disappointing so. And absolutely no match for the Australian. Campenaerts started still strong on the steepest part of the trail, but fell in the slot to the wind – quite a way. The 26-year-old hardrijder of Lotto-Soudal finishes normally strong, that was there in Torrelavega (Cantabria). For Campenaerts now is the case to the Vuelta on a spare drive and then to focus on the world CHAMPIONSHIPS time trial in Innsbruck. There he is by mountain track not a favourite, but he hopes the best performance ever at a world CHAMPIONSHIPS time trial. Then he should do better than the seventh place of his friend Yves Lampaert at the world CHAMPIONSHIPS of 2016.

The Plus best Belgian

Will Campenaerts about two weeks anyway better to do than Laurens Plus. The 23-year-old compatriot of Quick-Step Floors was by his father and mother energized from the truck and did surprisingly eleven count better than Campenaerts and seized a handsome eighth place. Also BMC-Belgians Dylan Teuns (eleventh) went faster than Campenaerts, making him only the third Belgian in the that stage was.

Kruijswijk best klassementsrenner, Yates holds

Of the gc riders did the Dutchman Steven Kruijswijk (Team LottoNL-Jumbo) the best case. The number five of the past Tour de France finished in Torrelavega fourth, 51 seconds behind Rohan Dennis. He jumps out of the disappointing Colombian Nairo Quintana (26th in the time trial) and Miguel Angel Lopez (31st in the time trial) of the fifth to the third place. Kruijswijk may even be the second-place Alejandro Valverde smell. Red sweater Simon Yates is, however, still outside shot for the Dutchman. Yates finished as thirteenth, just behind Campenaerts. The Brit Mitchelton – Scott was a 37 count slower than Kruijswijk, but seven seconds faster than the first pursuer Valverde.

In the ranking counts Simon Yates five trips to the end now 33 seconds ahead of Alejandro Valverde and 52 seconds on Steven Kruijswijk. Nairo Quintana (1 minute 15 seconds) may be out of the race, slowly gaining on his belly to write. Enric Mas, the barely 23-year-old Spaniard of Quick-Step Floors, jumps, thanks to a formidable time trial (sixth) about Miguel Ángel López to sixth place. He now has one and a half minute gap on Yates.

Wednesday get Valverde, Kruijswijk and the Colombians a new chance to ascend to the throne of Yates at the bernabeu. The seventeenth stage in this Vuelta on the program, a drive of 157 kilometers with start in Getxo and arrival in Balcon de Bizkaia. The arrival is a punchy little climb of the first category.

That stage

1 Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team) 37:57

2 Joey Rosskopf (BMC Racing Team) +50

3 Jonathan Castroviejo (Team Sky)

4 Steven Kruijswijk (Team LottoNL – Jumbo) +51

5 Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)

6 Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors) +1:03

7 Nélson Oliveira (Movistar Team) +1:05

8 Laurens De Plus (Quick-Step Floors) +1:07

9 Simon Geschke (Team Sunweb) +1:10

10 Kasper Asgreen (Quick-Step Floors)


1 Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)

2 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team) +33

3 Steven Kruijswijk (Team LottoNL – Jumbo) +52

4 Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) +1:15

5 Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors) +1:30

6 Miguel Ángel López (Astana Pro Team) +1:34

7 Thibaut Pinot (Groupama – FDJ) +2:53

8 Ion Izagirre (Bahrain – Merida) +3:04

9 Rigoberto Urán (Team EF Education First – Drapac p/b Cannondale) +3:15

10 Tony Gallopin (AG2R La Mondiale) +4:43

Leave a Comment