Cycling Sports

Vuelta: Tony Gallopin surprised Sagan after tough finals, Kwiatkowski will lose precious seconds

70572dd4e26634d5c1bbdb908ea9cf8b - Vuelta: Tony Gallopin surprised Sagan after tough finals, Kwiatkowski will lose precious seconds

No day without a story in an exciting Vuelta. The spirited finale in stage seven had a nice denouement with the Frenchman Gallopin as the deserved winner. The ex-rider of the Lotto-Soudal surprised the medefavorieten in the slotkilometers.

The seventh stage brought the riders from Puerto Lumbreras to Pozo Alcon, good for 185 km with a broken finale. Seven riders chose to immediately run away. Among them, Floris De Tier, the East-flanders of LottoNL-Jumbo for the second time in this Vuelta for the offensive chose. The seven was never necessary space, the more so as the peloton in at lightning speed to the foot of the last climb of the day, the Alto de Ceal, spoedde.

The escapees remained at the foot from the grip of the peloton that was jolted by a crash. The Tier still tried to get away, together with the Canadian Michael Woods, who moments later, our compatriot prompt left. The Canadian was the top of the slope nabbed by the avant-garde of the uitdunnende platoon. After the top did not really downhill, allowing attackers to have opportunities to attack. The peloton was getting smaller under the impulse of an already impressive LottoNL-Jumbo so that finally not more than thirty riders in Pozo Alcon offered. Main victim: Michal Kwiatkowski. The Pool was ten kilometers from the finish, surprisingly, the role resolve and would finish thirty seconds to admit on the first.

In the final tried the Spanish Herrada, the top to be a surprise but was at two kilometers from the finish, picked up and drove past by Tony Gallopin. The Frenchman held and recorded, after a stage win in the Tour, now also his first victory in the Vuelta a españa.

That stage:

1. Tony Gallopin (Fra)

2. Peter Sagan (Svk) 5”

3. Alejandro Valverde (Spa)

4. Eduard Prades (Spa)

5. Omar Fraile (Spa)

6. Rigoberto Uran (Col)

7. Ion Izagirre (Spa)

8. Enric Mas (Spa)

9. Wilco Kelderman (Ned)

10. Sepp Kuss (USA)

General classification:

1. Rudy Molard (Fra)

2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) 47”

3. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) 48”

4. Simon Yates (GBR) at 51”

5. Tony Gallopin (Fra) at 59”

6. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) at 1’06”

7. Ion Izagirre (Spa) 1’11”

8. Nairo Quintana (Col) at 1’14”

9. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) at 1’18”

10. Enric Mas (Spa) 1’23”

Leave a Comment