Cycling Sports

Tim Wellens is looking for second victory in a row in GP of Wallonia

6f6056c81cc42c30711dedfb5d2245bc - Tim Wellens is looking for second victory in a row in GP of Wallonia

Wednesday was the 59th edition of the GP Wallonie (1.1) is proposed. The Walloon semiklassieker start this year in Chaudfontaine, starting since 2013, but in Blegny. From there, they set course in the direction of the arrival at the Citadel of Namur. There will be nineteen teams start, including Lotto Soudal and outgoing winner Tim Wellens.

After the start in Blegny, the riders via Soumagne, Olne, Theux, Stoumont and Werbomont again on the old, traditional route of the GP of Wallonia.

“The new trail is from the start heavier”, explained race director Christophe Fire. “In particular, the slopes in Trasenster and Desnié in the first kilometers, there will be cut by the riders. From Werbomont follows the typical finale to the Citadel along the slopes of Ermeton, Lustin and Tienne aux Pierres.

Tim Wellens, the winner of last year, has once again present. He continued, last year, two other former winners, the French Tony Gallopin (2016) and Julien Simon (2012), for. Wellens won earlier this summer, though the Tour of Wallonia.

Grand prix of Wallonia (1.1), 59th edition, to 205.9 km

– Start: Place Sainte-Gertrude in Blegny to 12: 00.

– Arrival: on the Citadel of Namur about 17u08.

– Slopes: Côte de Transenter (km 13,8), Côte d’Ermeton (km 161,2), Côte de Lustin (km 179,3), Tienne aux Pierres (km 179,3) Citadel of Namur (km 196,7).

– Participating teams:

World tour: Lotto Soudal, AG2R La Mondiale, Groupama-FDJ, Trek-Segafredo

Procontinentaal: Aqua Blue Sports, Cofidis, Direct Energy, Hagens Berman Axeon, Israel Cycling Academy, Roompot Dutch Lottery, Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise, Fortuneo-Samsic, Veranda’s Willems-Crelan, Wanty-Groupe Gobert, WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic.

Continental: AGO-Aqua Service, T. Palm-Pôle Continental Wallon, Tarteletto-Isorex, Roubaix-Lille Métropole.

. Recent relijst:

2000. Alberto Elli (Ita)

2001. Axel Merckx (BEL)

2002. Dave Bruylandts (BEL)

2003. Dave Bruylandts (BEL)

2004. Nick Nuyens (BEL)

2005. Nick Nuyens (BEL)

2006. Philippe Gilbert (BEL)

2007. Bert De Waele (BEL)

2008. Stefano Garzelli (Ita)

2009. Nick Nuyens (BEL)

2010. Paul Martens (Ger)

2011. Philippe Gilbert (BEL)

2012. Julien Simon (Fra)

2013. Jan Bakelants (BEL)

2014. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL)

2015. Jens Debusschere (BEL)

2016. Tony Gallopin (Fra)

2017. Tim Wellens (BEL)

Leave a Comment