Cycling Sports

Experienced Australian sprint to a stage win, Kwiatkowski plays jersey lost to an unknown Frenchman

30d58d2373994b3875fd87a508f25e24 - Experienced Australian sprint to a stage win, Kwiatkowski plays jersey lost to an unknown Frenchman

Michal Kwiatkowski is the leader in the Vuelta. The Frenchman Rudy Molard (Groupama-FdJ) was part of a large breakaway and takes the red leader’s jersey of the Polish ex-world champion. The victory was for the Australian Simon Clarke.

The fifth stage took the riders from Granada to seaside resort of Roquetas del Mar. Difficult, but not insurmountable with some slopes but certainly not a heavy cost. Nevertheless, Team Sky, whether consciously or not, there not in the jersey of Michal Kwiatkowski.

When, after sixty kilometers of hard races finally there is a breakaway of 25 riders drove it, decided Sky to there not necessarily to do everything to the sweater to the rescue. The best placed rider – the Frenchman Rudy Molard of Groupama – FdJ – had hardly more than four minutes to make up on Kwiatkowski. Molard, one of the better servants of Thibaut Pinot, smoke his chance when the lead of the large leading group soon amounted to six minutes. From Belgian side, we recorded the presence of Floris De Tier and Maxime Monfort.

For the Italian De Marchi went the front is still not fast enough. The BMC rider muisde to the front plate with the Frenchman Rossetto and showed his vluchtgezel a moment later, alone. De Marchi, clearly in search of a world cup selection, pulled hard. Behind him came the breakaway from each other. De Marchi was joined by Simon Clarke (EF Education) and Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo). The Dutchman drove a further leak but turned still back in the forefront of the competition. Behind this trio formed a second trio Molard, The Tier and Villela. The peloton kept the gap at six minutes, enough for Molard to Kwiatkowski, the jersey to rip.

The three front – all three ever stage winner in the Vuelta – were competing with each other on several occasions to outwit but exert to take it in turns each other’s attempts. Sprinting so and it took Simon Clarke for Mollema and De Marchi, Floris De Tier ran to a fifth place. Rudy Mollard, sixth in the daguitslag, took the red jersey from Michal Kwiatkowski.

That stage:

1. Simon Clarke (Aus – Education First) 2. Bauke Mollema (Ned) 3. Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) 4. Davide Villella (Ita) on 8” 5. FLORIS DE TIER 6. Rudy Molard (Fra) 7. MAXIME MONFORT on 1’58” 8. Jonathan Lastra (Spa) 2’ 9. Franco Pellizotti (Ita) 10. Merhawi Kudus (Eri)


1. Rudy Molard (Fra – Groupama FdJ) 2. Michael Kwiatkowski (Pol) at 1’01” 3. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) at 1’08” 4. Simon Yates (GBR) at 1’11” 5. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) at 1’13”

Leave a Comment