Motorsport Sports

Hamilton conquers polepositie in the rain, Stoffel Vandoorne last

548872f7cc6171cccf4d9528697c40d9 - Hamilton conquers polepositie in the rain, Stoffel Vandoorne last

For the belgian Stoffel Vandoorne was the qualification again disappointing with the twentieth and the slowest time. Vandoorne will gridpenalty programs for other riders as eighteenth to the race start. Lewis Hamilton won in a very exciting hour in the rain the polepositie.

The qualification meant for Stoffel Vandoorne a further continuation of the race weekend, such as the date had expired. Vandoorne was unable to get further than last time to get.

Vandoorne put a so-called ‘tow’ for Alonso, so that his Spanish team-mate speed could win on the straight uphill. Nevertheless, it became also Alonso no further than a seventeenth time. McLaren is obviously too slow and not competitive at the circuit of Spa-Francorchamps.

Little spectacle during the second part of the qualification with all the top drivers that worked were able to advance to the final part of the qualification. Were the riders already warned that rain was expected in Q3.

At the beginning of Q3, it started actually very gently to drip but not to the extent that the F1-pilots, there is something of noticed. However, that was the signal for the riders to be as fast as possible on the track.

While the job went up, however, it began to rain harder, causing the riders right back in the pits went to change for tyres that were suited for rain.

In the rain we had an exciting battle for the polepositie with Lewis Hamilton ultimately the fastest was Sebastian Vettel and the two riders from racing Point Force India, the renstal that almost could not participate in the GP of Belgium. Again spectacle so at the circuit of Spa-Francorchamps, as so often.

1. GB Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:58.179
2. THE Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:58.905 +0.726
3. FR Esteban Ocon Racing Point Force India 2:01.851 +3.672
4. MX Sergio Perez Racing Point Force India 2:01.894 +3.715
5. FR Romain Grosjean Haas F1 2:02.122 +3.943
6. FI Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 2:02.671 +4.492
7. EN Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 2:02.769 +4.590
8. AU Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 2:02.939 +4.760
9. DK Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 2:04.933 +6.754
10. FI Valtteri Bottas Mercedes no time
11. FR Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1:43.844 +-14.335
12. New zealand Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1:43.865 +-14.314
13. MC Charles Leclerc Sauber 1:44.062 +-14.117
14. SE Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:44.301 +-13.878
15. THE Nico Hülkenberg Renault no time
16. ES Carlos Sainz jr, Renault, 1:44.489 +-13.690
17. ES Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:44.917 +-13.262
18. RU Sergey Sirotkin Williams 1:44.998 +-13.181
19. CA Lance Stroll down Williams 1:45.134 +-13.045
20. BE Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1:45.307 +-12.872

More F1 news on

  • Ticket prices GP of Belgium to 2019 again a lot more expensive
  • Lose Stoffel Vandoorne are racezitje at McLaren?
  • Alonso expects apologies from Horner about Red Bull-offers
  • Mercedes: “New engine shows encouraging results”
  • VIDEO: Max Verstappen shows his new ‘orange’ helmet

Leave a Comment