Cycling Sports

Four WorldTeams signs present for first edition Great War Rembrance Race

With Quick-Step Floors, Lotto Soudal, BMC, and Sunweb come Friday, four WorldTeams to the start of the first edition of the Great War Remembrance Race. The start of this category 1.1 race is given to the King Albert 1 Monument, in Nieuwpoort. The arrival is after 192,7 kilometers on the Grote Markt of Ypres.

Newport is going in the direction of the Hills, where, after 66 miles, with the Vidaigneberg, the first climb of the day awaits. After that, the Rodeberg on the menu, followed by the Klokhofweg. Through Palingbeek and the three Plugstreets, unpaved roads near Warneton, go again to the Vidaigneberg and Rodeberg and then to the Monteberg and Kemmelberg to attract. That last slope is 27 km from the finish. Then follows a second passage to the kasseizone of the Palingbeek, 13 kilometres of the final stage

At BMC is Greg Van Avermaet, but not at the start. The olympic champion suffered a break in. Be present at the BMC are Jean-Pierre Drucker and Simon Gerrans. Quick-Step Floors to count them among others on Yves Lampaert and Niki Terpstra, and the sprinters Fabio Jakobsen and Fernando Gaviria. The other Belgian WorldTeam, Lotto Soudal, attracts with, among others, Jasper De Buyst, Jens Debusschere and Moreno Hofland to Nieuwpoort. Team Sunweb comes with five riders at full troop strength at the start. The Belgian contribution in that team comes from Edward Theuns and Louis Vervaeke.

“I don’t expect a bunch sprint in Ypres,” says organizer Hans De Clercq. “The finale starts at about 75 kilometers from the finish. A first selection will happen on the Palingbeek, a tricky kasseizone of 1.3 kilometers long. That zone is also done in full final, on 13 kilometres of the final stage. And there are also the two loops in the Hills to the fragmentation in the large group.”

Leave a Comment