Cycling Sports

Italian Gavazzi sprints to victory in first stage of Tour of Burgos

1250ace8c9a4c38a7d94f20b86f4c2df - Italian Gavazzi sprints to victory in first stage of Tour of Burgos

Francesco Gavazzi (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec), the first stage of the Tour of Burgos (2.BC) won. The 34-year-old Italian took it on an uphill finish in Burgos for the Spaniards Pello Bilbao (Astana) and Alex Aranburu (Caja Rural). He is also the first leader. There are no Belgians involved in the Spanish stage race.

The riders were in the openingsetappe immediately, a solid stage is presented with its three categorized climbs: the Altotero (first category) and in the last 15 km two times the Alto del Castillo (third category), where also the finish was.

Yet from that six riders to move around in the traditional flight of the day. Bryan Nauleau (Direct Energy), Lucas de Rossi (Delko Marseille Provence), Sindre Lunke (Fortuneo), Pablo Torres (Burghos BRA), Ricardo Garcia (Euskadi) and Diego Sevilla (Polartec Kometa).

Maximum allowed to the pack them a clue of five minutes, after which the bonus is gradually decreased. Partly also because, in the end, at about 45 km, under the impulse of the wind, fans were formed and the peloton broke up. The situation stabilized in the peloton, but the escapees saw, meanwhile, with their lead reduced to just half a minute.

At 35 km, they would also have the company of four others: Mattia Cattaneo and Davide Ballerini (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec), Luis Mas Bonet (Caja Rural) and Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana). It was Team Sky that hunting had and 15 km from the end, the breakaway is caught.

On the first of two local climbs was a tight pace driven and would eventually pass on the last climb of the decision fall. Merhawi Kudus took his chance, but went too early and it was Gavazzi who is everything and everyone still passed. It is for the Italian rider his first victory of the season, his twelfth in his career.

Results and stand –

1. Francesco Gavazzi (Ita/Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) in 3u48:30

2. Pello Bilbao (Spa) z.t.

3. Alex Aranburu (Spa)

4. Marco Tizza (Ita); 5. Jon Aberasturi (Spa); 6. Tao Geoghegan (GBr); 7. Jonathan Lastra (Spa); 8. Marco Canola (Ita) 0:05; 9. Garikoitz Bravo (Spa); 10. Merhawi Kudus (Eri).

Leave a Comment