Cycling Sports

There is no end to Alaphilippe: Frenchman wins after Walloon Arrow and polka dot jersey will now also Clásica San Sebastián

61ff88d450f07c05b84a3c6fbd5d66a0 - There is no end to Alaphilippe: Frenchman wins after Walloon Arrow and polka dot jersey will now also Clásica San Sebastián

Julian Alaphilippe has Saturday afternoon, the Clásica San Sebastián in his name. The Frenchman from the Quick Step Floors was the fastest in a sprint with two against the Dutchman Bauke Mollema in a warm edition of the only Spanish klimklassieker. Van Avermaet finished fourth. The final was marred by a serious crash in which the majority of the favorites against the ground. Especially Landa (Movistar) and Bernal (Team Sky), there are very.

The foreplay of the 229-kilometer-long klimklassieker in Spanish Basque country lasted for 170 miles and was cared for by six escapees: Lluís Mas (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA), Cyril Barthe (Euskadi Basque Country – Murias), Aritz Bagües (Euskadi Basque Country – Murias), Sergio Rodríguez (Euskadi Basque Country – Murias), Pablo Torres (Burgos – BH) and Loïc Chetout (Cofidis, Solutions Crédits). The four Spaniards and two Frenchmen chose after ten miles the high seas, had for a long time a safe conduct and were ultimately one-for-one eaten by the pack. Cyril Barthe made his Basque employer a favor by being the last vluchter to continue and the mountain to tackle, but Team Sky was believed to ultimately the hole on the 22-year-old Frenchman.

The double climbs of the infamous Jaizkibel (7,5 km at 5.8%) and Alto Arkale (3.2 km 5.5%) made a first big selection. Pieter Serry (Quick-Step Floors) slipped attentive when Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo) and Winner Ancona (Movistar) on the tree shaking on the last time the Alto Arkale. Much leeway they were given, however, not of the pack.

Serious crash: Bernal and Landa motionless on the asphalt

The decisive moment of the game fell flat after the first passage of the finish line. In the nervous run-up to the Murgil Tontora (a kind of Wall of Huy at eight kilometres from the finish line) went about the majority of the big favourites against the ground by a stupid action of the American Benjamin King (Dimension Data): Roglic, Landa, Gallopin, Izagirre,… Especially Sky-talent, Egan Bernal was very. The Colombian, who in the past Tour de France in the service of Froome so much impression had remained motionless on the asphalt (read more).

What remained of the peloton came in full speed to the foot of the Murgil Tontora (1.8 km at an average of 11.3%). There broke the large group under the impulse of the young Dutch Antwan Tolhoek completely in pieces. Just before the summit, he was voorbijgesneld by his experienced compatriot Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) and the French favourite Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors). Greg Van Avermaet went uphill for a long time with that duo, but could his trolley just not hook in the last hectometers.

That proved to be fatal for our fellow countryman. Mollema and Alaphilippe expanded their lead in the descent to San Sebastian from on Of the Team and were sprinting for the victory. Alaphilippe started from the head, Mollema came over. The French topper of Quick Step Floors makes are absolutely top season with victory in the Clasica San Sebastian some more. Please read: the fleche wallonne, two stage wins and the polka dot jersey in the Tour, with two stage wins in the Tour of the Basque country, a stage win in the Dauphiné and one in Colombia Oro y Paz. And so now the Clasica San Sebastian. Bauke Mollema (profit in 2016, the third in 2017, the second in 2018) is for the third year in a row on the stage in San Sebastian.


1. Julian Alaphilippe (Quick Step Floors, Fra)

2. Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo, Ned)

3. Anthony Roux (Groupama-FDJ, Fra) +16”

4. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC, Bel)

5. Julien Simon (Cofidis, Fra)

6. Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First, Col)

7. Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida, Spa)

8. Robert Gesink (Team LottoNL-Jumbo, Netherlands)

9. Steven Kruijswijk (Team LottoNL-Jumbo, Netherlands)

10. Antwan Tolhoek (Team LottoNL-Jumbo, Netherlands)

Leave a Comment