Cycling Sports

In the shadow of the Tour is in one’s own country Tour of Wallonia driven, with Fabio Aru in the start

c0ccc2543cf376907da52f5e4394c2e8 - In the shadow of the Tour is in one's own country Tour of Wallonia driven, with Fabio Aru in the start

Saturday start in La Louvière, the 39th edition of the Tour of Wallonie (2.BC). Twenty teams of seven riders will be under each other to define who is the successor of the absent Dylan Teuns.

La Louvière will receive for the first time the ‘Grand Départ’ of the Tour of Wallonia. The five stages connect traditionally, west and east of the Walloon part of the country with the arrival of the last stage of the Liège Borgworm.

There was a heavy trail together, so that the riders would have to help to make the difference. “We present a varied career, that of specialists in each area, the opportunities to excel”, explained race director Christophe Burns out.

The first stage arrives in Les Bons Villers, where on a local trail a spicy kasseistrook wait. In the second stage to drive the riders to the centre of Namur, after the first two times the Citadel of Namur to have climbed. The third stage then finish in La Roche-en-Ardenne where a sprint belongs to the possibilities. The fourth stage should the punchers inspire with three mountains for the arrival in Herstal. The final stage to Borgworm seems finally to culminate in a royal sprint.

Departing winner Dylan Teuns does not start, because his team BMC her cat sends. Dries Devenyns (Quick-Step Floors), winner of 2016, is party, like the Italian Fabio Aru (UAE Emirates), which is in Wallonia, the Vuelta and the world CHAMPIONSHIPS prepared.


28/07 La Louvière – Les Bons Villers, 193,4 km), start to 12u04.

29/07 Villers-La-Ville – Names, a 167,2 km, start at 12.30 pm.

30/07 Chimay – La Roche-en-Ardenne, 169,2 km, start at 12h45.

31/07 Malmedy – Liège, 161,4 km, starts at 13h00.

1/08 Huy – Borgworm, 187,5 km, start to 12u20.

Participating teams:

WorldTour: Groupama-FDJ, Lotto-Soudal, Quick Step Floors, Dimension Data, Katusha-Alpecin, UAE Team Emirates

Procontinentaal: Aqua Blue Sports, Cofidis Solutions Crédits, Direct Energy, Roompot Dutch Lottery, Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise, Fortuneo-Samsic, Veranda’s Willems-Crelan, Vital Concept Cycling Club, Wanty-Groupe Gobert, WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic.

Continental: Ago-Aqua Service, Pauwels Sauces-Vastgoedservice, Fidea Lions, Roubaix-Lille Métropole.

Last ten winners:

2017: Dylan Teuns

2016: Dries Devenyns

2015: Nik Terpstra (Ned)

2014: Gianni Meersman

2013: Greg Van Avermaet

2012: Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita)

2011: Greg Van Avermaet

2010: Russell Downing (GBr)

2009: Julien El Fares (Fra)

2008: Serguei Ivanov (Rus)

Leave a Comment