Lewis Hamilton had a moment to fear that he his victory at the GP of Germany would lose. The Brit was, indeed, the stewards called for a strange manoeuvre from him almost into the pits. Hamilton does, however, retain his victory, and gets only a reprimand.
After a thorough study, the stewards decided that Hamilton actually the rules violation was, but that a so-called warning or reprimand is better appropriate than an actual penalty. Such a penalty would imply that Hamilton his victory would lose.
In determining the actual ‘punishment’ was, according to the stewards took into account the fact that both the team and the rider, their error is recognized and that there is confusion about the fact whether the rider within had come. There was also taken into account the fact that the error occurred during a safety car period.
According to the stewards was the change of direction is performed in a secure way and there was at no time a danger to other riders. There was, moreover, taken into account previous breaches of the relevant rule, and that’s why it seemed the stewards be more appropriate in this case, a reprimand in the place of a penalty.
More F1 news on F1journaal.be:
- Alonso avoids by giving a defeat of Stoffel Vandoorne
- Vettel: “I’m going to my sleep, not by crash”
- Bottas must win to Hamilton: “I understand the teamorders Mercedes”
- Mercedes explains why the teamorders gave it to Bottas and Hamilton
- “Formula 1 needs a dictator”