Athletics Sports

Impressive Sagan’s right the Belgians (and Colbrelli) on the steep finish, Van Avermaet continues to sip leader

e0ae43492861f06923614614608ca830 - Impressive Sagan's right the Belgians (and Colbrelli) on the steep finish, Van Avermaet continues to sip leader

Peter Sagan after the second now also the fifth stage of the Tour de France won. In an inclined sprint in Quimper was the Slovak champion is the strongest. Sonny Colbrelli and Philippe Gilbert were second and third, Greg Van Avermaet remains the leader and hold three seconds left on Gilbert.

This fifth stage was the first in which a pack of sprinters themselves in advance once in the hair will felt. With five slopes, two in fourth and three of third category were the riders in the fifth stage between Lorient and Quimper a hilly trail for the wheels pushed. Not ideal for the pure sprinters, it’s great for men with a strong eindschot such as world champion Peter Sagan and geletruidrager Greg Van Avermaet. Tiesj Benoot and Michael Matthews would the ride not colors: Benoot gave up on after his heavy fall yesterday, while the sick Matthews – last year’s winner of the green jersey – decided to pack.

Two Belgians in the foreground

Early on in the start tried two interesting names to blow: Anthony Turgis (Cofidis) and Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energy), last year winner in this Tour. Behind them, things went immediately wrong when Robert Kiserlovski (Katusha-Alpecin) and Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) in a slight curve against the ground kwakten after a collision with a motard. Moscon could go further, but Kiserlovski broke his shoulder and had to give up.

The adventure of Calmejane and Turgis was not long lived. After a few nervous miles, it was driven by veteran Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energy) is still an early flight on its feet, with some very interesting names and including two Belgians. Chavanel got the company of Julien Vermote (Dimension Data) and Jasper De Buyst (Lotto-Soudal), Toms Skujins (Pull-Segafredo), Elie Gesbert (Fortuneo-Samsic) and Nicolas Edet (Cofidis) slipped. You read it all: no Wanty-Groupe Gobert, despite a late effort from Marco Minnaard not in the attack to admire would be today.

La Machine strikes again to

Under the influence of the BMC, the team of Greg Van Avermaet were the seven leaders never really a lot of time gift. On the hilly course stoomden both breakaway as the peloton fast forward, but on the first climb of the day – the Côte de Kaliforn – thought Sylvain Chavanel his moment has come. La Machine left his companions behind and grabbed both the Côte de Kaliforn and the subsequent Côte de Trimen the only bergpuntje. After the second slope in the background firmly wrong when Elie Gesbert, last year, the youngest participant of the Tour, hard the roadside in kwakte during the afzink. The 23-year-old Frenchman came with the shock, but would be later caught by the peloton.

Chavanel also came in first on d Côte de la Roche du Feu, the third climb of the day and the first of the third category. Also Calmejane fumbled a point. Shortly afterwards, there was a fusion in the front, but fellow countrymen The Ed and Vermote had to overboard. Only Chavanel, Calmejane, Edet and the Note Skujins remained. Especially Skujins allowed himself to remark with a few sharp attacks. On the Cote de Menez-Quélerc ” h delivered the Note two bergpunten, while Calmejane as a second also a tip got. Edet came afterwards to join the two leaders, but La Machine , we would no longer see the front.

The peloton, still led by BMC, and occasionally also the BORA-Hansgrohe Peter Sagan, nibbled little by little to the advantage of the three remaining escapees. Who were on the last climb of the day, the Côte de la Montagne de Locronan (third category), to the mountains bikkelen. Finally took out Skujins in a sprint, leaving tomorrow for the first time in the 115-year history of the Tour, a rider from Latvia a official sweater can wear. Skujins received for his writs, also the price of the pungency, but shortly afterwards there was the story of the Note and aanvalspartner Calmejane on and off.

All the attention to the peloton, which is 12 kilometers from the finish, should still fight to the bonusseconden. The sprint was won by Julian Alaphilippe (QuickStep Floors), three seconds and picked it up. Van Avermaet was second in an attempt his yellow jersey to protect, and was also two boniseconden gift. The violence of the bonificatiesprintje was followed up with an attack from Rein Taaramae (Direct Energy).

Ultimately, it was a sprint, but without a grasp of the big names. André Greipel, Mark Cavendish, Dylan Groenewegen, Marcel Kittel, Arnaud Démare: all they had to thrown in this tough race. Fernando Gaviria continued to do on board in the peloton, just as Peter Sagan and Greg Van Avermaet. Gilbert opened the debates in the sloping final kilometer. Also, Van Avermaet made his coin in the bag, but no one could oppose the power of the world champion. Sagan won the sprint signed off for an equally strong Sonny Colbrelli, Gilbert had to settle with place three. Gilbert is approaching as known to within three seconds of Van Avermaet in the position, as he is with his third place, four bonificatieseconden picked it up.

Leave a Comment