Cycling Sports

Gaviria is Sagan and Greipel to quickly and picks up his second victory in the Tour, the Team retains the yellow jersey

Fernando Gaviria (Quick Step Floors) has its second stage in this Round of France won. The Colombian devoured in a thrilling sprint just Peter Sagan (BORA-hansgrohe) and André Greipel (Lotto-Soudal). Greg Van Avermaet retains the yellow. Our fellow countryman, Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) was part of the long flight of four and was only under the red rag of the last kilometre today.

For the start were the eyes focused on the yellow jersey Of Greg van Avermaet. That BMC with a clear goal for this Tour was to come, should be clear. The yellow bike was out of the stable and put in order, Van Avermaet could with a assorted racer is the fourth stage begin. The official start came, however, with delay, after a fall of Marcus Burghardt (BORA – hansgrohe) in the neutral zone.

The Belgian national football team is tonight against France in the semi-finals at the world CHAMPIONSHIPS and also in the Tour, we were tête-à-tête between the neighbouring countries. The valg flew as Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Wanty – Groupe Gobert) in the attack caught, the man who last year alone 190 kilometers in the attack reed in the – yes – fourth stage. We got a bisnummer to see? Not entirely, because he got the company of compatriot Dimitri Claeys (Cofidis, Solutions Crédits) and the French Anthony Perez (Cofidis, Solutions Crédits), Jérôme Cousin (Direct Energy), 2-2 between Belgium and France in the leading group.

The peloton let them be, and the lead of the four escapees grew quickly. After only 20 miles was the difference is already more than six minutes, Greg Van Avermaet was his yellow virtual lost to… Van Keirsbulck, the best placed rider in the breakaway. Almost made the peloton, however, not immediately. The lead of the breakaway group would go up to almost 8 minutes. In the peloton the work was traditionally performed by the team of the leader, BMC.

In that pack they made is meanwhile, on for the tussenspurt at 97.5 km from the finish. After the race was Fernando Gaviria, the fastest of the pack, for André Greipel and Peter Sagan. The platoon had, meanwhile, also the tempo in hunted, looking for the escapees. The difference went rapidly down in the direction of the two minutes. But those who thought that the four at the front immediately, was it for the effort. The bonus continued for a while, rocking round the two minutes, with the limit of 50 km in sight dropped him to the minute. Then ended up a few riders on the canal, making the pace slabakte in the peloton. That meant that the four at 35km from the finish, suddenly again had three minutes. Would the pack allow themselves to be surprised?

It was, in any case, the signal for the spurtersploegen to all sails. On behalf of Lotto-Soudal and Greipel went to Thomas De Gendt pace. He got assistance of men of Quick Step Floors, which today hosts to a second victory wanted to be pilots. The four at the front were not just won, at 13 kilometers from the finish was the difference even a minute and a half.

The pace was incredible high and 3 kilometres of the line were most of the leaders there anyway for the effort. Only Van Keirsbulck saved it is still up to the red rag. In a royal sprint pulled Fernando Gaviria at the longest end, Peter Sagan and the of far at the head of the left André Greipel stranded on two and three.

– Rash –

1. Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors)

2. Peter Sagan (BORA – hansgrohe)

3. André Greipel (Lotto – Soudal)

4. Dylan Groenewegen (Team LottoNL – Jumbo)

5. Marcel Kittel (Team Katusha – Alpecin)

6. Andrea Pasqualon (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)

7. Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates)

8. John Degenkolb (Pull – Segafredo)

9. Dion Smith (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)

10. Timothy Dupont (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)

Greg Van Avermaet got safely in the peloton and retains his yellow jersey. Less gelukhad klassementsman Rigoberto Uran (Team EF Education First – Drapac) came at five kilometers from the finish at val with a large part of the peloton and had to by Sep Vanmarcke back towards the platoon guides.

– General classification –

1. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team)

2. Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing Team)+

3. Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)+3”

4. Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)+5”

5. Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors)+7”

Leave a Comment