Cycling Sports

Yves Lampaert is Belgian champion cycling, Quick Step dominates BK in Binche with Gilbert as a strong second

7facb9fd23ab406b4f3bc82650283562 - Yves Lampaert is Belgian champion cycling, Quick Step dominates BK in Binche with Gilbert as a strong second

Yves Lampaert has in Binche the Belgian championship cycling on the road won. It is the first national title for the 27-year old West-Flemish hardrijder of Quick Step Floors, which after an exciting title in the final wegsprong of a group of three. Teammate Philippe Gilbert was perhaps the best man in the race and was second, Jasper Stuyven was third on the stage.

After the start on the Large Market in Binche followed 13 heavy rounds of 17.2 km (223,6 km in total) and then again on the Large Market.

The hilly trail with several short climbs and several cobblestone sections – made immediately for the necessary spectacle. In the final kilometer of the rounds was each time the Rue de la Pépinière, a kasseistrook of about half a kilometer, with a growth rate of 4.5 percent, and that was always the sign to full to move.

Fast start

It was full of gekoerst. There were multiple attacks including Thomas De Gendt who showed, but the favourites were excited and so were we in front a group together with all the officers in the front seat. By that hellish pace broke behind the peloton in pieces…

Bad luck for Naesen

Defending champion Oliver Naesen (AG2R) took in doing a course at his size, but halfway through the race he had mechanical problems. By a sturdy chain, he was far back in the peloton and after an impressive effort from group to group, he could front up again but he would the rest of the course carry with them…

Still have separation in the front

With 100 kilometers to go we got in the front anyway separation: finally got 17 riders got away from the clutches of the peloton: Yves Lampaert and Dries Devenyns (QuickStep Floors), Sander Armée, Victor Campenaerts and Jasper De Buyst (Lotto-Soudal), Aimé De Gendt, Jordi Warlop, Milan Ments and Jonas Rickaert (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise) and Louis Vervaeke (Team Sunweb), Gianni Marchand, Cederick Raymackers (Cibel-Cebon), Jimmy Duquennoy (Aqua Protect), Nathan Van Hooydonck (BMC)Frederick Backaert (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Dries De Bondt (Veranda’s Willems-Crelan) and Laurens Sweeck (Pauwels Sauces-Vastgoedservice).

Wanty-Groupe Gobert shows

They took up to two minutes ahead, but behind them led Wanty-Groupe Gobert in the chase. The Walloon team had to show for each round and passed the price along to the headquarters of the team.

When the peloton after the tenth of the thirteen rounds to a half a minute was near, jumped six riders at the front road: Lotto team mates The Ed and Campenaerts, Van Hooydonck, Lampaert, Backaert and Aimé De Gendt (SVB).

Philippe Gilbert opens the actual final

Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data) and Edward Theuns(Team Sunweb) tried first to make the leap forward to make but it was only when Philippe Gilbertop 32 km un to the mark significantly passed that the finale blows away the edges. The Belgian champion of 2011 and 2016, made an impression and then went immediately on to the front, where Backaert the role had to solve.

Tiesj Benoot (Lotto-Soudal), Pieter Serry (Quick Step), Sep Vanmarcke (Education First) and Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) realized the danger and so we got an elite group of ten riders. The two large blocks of Lotto-Soudal and Quick Step were both with three riders present in the front of the race but still did the collaboration is not optimal.

Gilbert and Vanmarcke best in price

At the start of the final lap drew Gilbert again. Vanmarcke had initially a hole, but jumped anyway. Also team mates Lampaert and Serry were together with Benoot and the amazing Aimé De Gendt.

Quick Step was the law dictate, but Gilbert could not overcome. He attacked a third time, but Vanmarcke refused his wheel to fix it. The two best riders in the race rode full by but they were back to the order called.

Fourth time, best time

Fourth time, best time for Gilbert: in the last ten kilometers, he arrived at kousenvoeten got away, this time together with team mate Lampaert and Stuyven.

If the individual was Stuyven caught: Lampaert attacked as the first 3.5 kilometres, and that was the good attack. Behind him remained to Gilbert in the wheel of Stuyven paste, to in the slot to second place to cycling. What a double win for Patrick Lefevere…


1. Yves Lampaert

2. Philippe Gilbert

3. Jasper Stuyven

(more later)

Leave a Comment