News

Child marriage is prohibited in New Jersey

NEW YORK – New Jersey is the second state in the United States that child marriage has been prohibited. People younger than 18 years old may not marry in New Jersey. To Friday were people younger than 16 years old to marry with consent of a judge. Between 16 and 18 years of age should young people marry with the consent of the parents.

Governor of the state Phil Murphy calls it “an important mensenrechtenzaak.” Nancy Munoz, a politician in New Jersey, was the driving force behind the law and is satisfied. “This was a journey without difficulties. Children make marry, it is just not the right thing to do.”

The American state of Delaware, forbade child marriage in may. Pennsylvania is working on a similar law.

Unsubscribe with 1 click

Leave a Comment