Cycling Sports

Movistar starts with three leaders at the Tour de France

e44a028e9c2d19398bf0dd81f8756aaf - Movistar starts with three leaders at the Tour de France

Movistar starts on 7 July with up to three leaders at the Tour de France. With Nairo Quintana, Alejandro Valverde and Mikel Landa has the Spanish WorldTour team and three riders that are all in front of the stage want to go. Directeur sportif Eusebio Unzue points out, in the course of the Tour as possible, one team leader, but he lets his riders, in the first instance free to also against each other to compete.

“The first week, with the kasseienrit, will be very interesting,” said Unzue, at the headquarters of Movistar, where he pre-selection of ten riders made known. The Colombian climber Quintana and Spaniards Valverde and Landa are already sure of a place in the touring team available. “Maybe we will after the first week, decide to put everything on one leader. If it is difficult for a leader to point out, is that a luxury for us.”

Quintana ended three times already on the stage, but the Colombian was never on the top step in Paris. The 28-year-old climber beat this year in the Giro on in order to focus on the Tour. “Hopefully, we can shine,” said Quintana, who last week in the Tour of Switzerland, his first seizoenszege posted.

The 38-year-old Valverde, third in the Tour of 2015, went last year back in the openingstijdrit by Düsseldorf. A broken kneecap kept him the rest of the season to the side. This year, however, he is stronger than ever, with victories in the Tour of Valencia, Tour of Abu Dhabi, Tour of Catalonia, and more recently, Route d’Occitanie.

Mikel Landa is reed the previous Tour in the service of Chris Froome at Team Sky. The 28-year-old Spaniard ended fourth, just one second from the podium. Angie stepped over to Movistar because he is there for his own opportunity can drive.

For the remaining five spots in the touring team available from Movistar seven riders eligible: the Costaricaan Andrey Amador, the Italian Daniele Bennati, the Portuguese Nélson Oliveira, the German Jasha Sütterlin and the Spaniards Imanol Erviti, José Joaquin Rojas and Marc Soler, the winner of Paris-Nice this year.

Leave a Comment