Cycling Sports

Swede wins Memorial Philippe Vanconingsloo

The 23-year-old Gustav Höög (Team Coop), the Memorial Philippe Vanconingsloo (cat. 1.2), with start and arrival after 179,9 km in Wavre, won. The Swede left in a sprint with three the British, Nathan Draper and Jacques Sauvagnargues behind. Lothar Verhulst usurped the fourth place.

After a good 50 kilometer race, a breakaway of eleven riders. That was Brent Cle, Michael Cools, Han Devos, Laurens Huys, Lothar Verhulst, Charlie Play, the Dutchman Mathijs Paasschens, the Swiss Matthias Reutimann, the British, Nathan Draper and Jacques Sauvagnargues, and the Swede Gustav Höög. They were the five local laps, each of which is only 14.6 km away to speak with a lead of 2:00 on the first part of the peloton.

Matthias Reutimann tried on seven kilometres of the final stage in a sprint with the breakaway still to escape, but failed in his intent. On the kasseizone of the Peulisbaan, three kilometers of the place, knew Laurns Huys a mechanical failure and he had his companions. In the last kilometres were Höög, Draper and Sauvagnargues managed to isolate from the rest, and in the subsequent sprint was Gustav Höög the fastest.

Leave a Comment