Football Sports

Australian coach Bert van Marwijk makes 23 names for Russia known

Bert van Marwijk, the Dutch coach of Australia, has Saturdays are the final selection for the world cup in Russia (14 June-15 July) published. Goalkeepers Danny Vukovic (Racing Genk) and Mathew Ryan (ex-Club Brugge and Genk) had previously been reassured about their world cup participation.

Fran Karacic (Lokomotiva Zagreb), Josh Brillante (Sydney FC), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory), ex-Zulte Waregem) and Nikita Rukavytsya (Maccabi Haifa, ex-Roeselare) were the last dropouts from Australia. Veteran Tim Cahill is still there. He plays his fourth world cup, after 2006, 2010 and 2014.

Australia during the group stage in Russia classified in group C, with France, Denmark and Peru.


Goalkeepers: Brad Jones (Liverpool/Ned), Matthew Ryan (Brighton & Hove Albion/Eng), Danny Vukovic (Racing Genk/BEL)

Defenders: Aziz Behich (Bursaspor/Tur), Milos Degenek (Yokohama F. Marinos/Japanese), Matthew Jurman (Suwon Bleuwings/Micro), James Meredith (Millwall/Eng), Josh Risdon (Western Sydney Wanderers/Aus), Trent Sainsbury (Grasshoppers/Swi)

Midfielders: Jackson Irvine (Hull City/Eng), Mile Jedinak (Aston Villa/Eng), Robbie Kruse (VfL Bochum/Germany), Massimo Luongo (Queens Park Rangers/Eng), Mark Milligan (Al-Ahli/Sau), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town/Eng), Tom Rogic (Celtic/Sch)

Attackers: Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City/Aus), Tim Cahill (Millwall/Eng), Tomi Juric (FC Luzern/Sui), Matthew Leckie (Hertha BSC/Germany), Andrew Nabbout (Urawa Red Diamonds/Jap), Dimitri Petratos (Newcastle Jets/Aus) and Jamie Maclaren (SV Darmstadt 98/Dui).


Leave a Comment