Cycling Sports

Tour of Luxembourg – Four Belgian teams to start, not only WorldTour team

2766e3df468cc64d650395bc10ccbb76 - Tour of Luxembourg - Four Belgian teams to start, not only WorldTour team

With Wanty-Groupe Gobert, Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise, Veranda’s Willems-Crelan and WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic four Belgian teams at the start of the Tour of Luxembourg (may 30-June 2). There are this year no WorldTour teams at the start.

Wednesday evening at 19: 00 is the Tour of Luxembourg kicked off with a 2.3-kilometer long prologue in the centre of the capital of the Grand duchy of Luxembourg. The finish line is located again this year at the Place Guillaume. The day after the riders of the city of Luxembourg to Hesperange. After 131 km course for a further three local laps of each 18 kilometres containing the ascent of the Syren.

Friday is the start given to the German border in Rosport. Along the way the riders on the two ramps under the wheels pushed to after 170 km to arrive on the top of the Montée de Cimetière in Schifflange. The ‘queen’s stage’ follows on June 2, between Eschweiler and Differdange. After 135 kilometres, there are three local circuits, each 9.5 km where the climb of the Col de l’europe is included.

The Tour of Luxembourg is closed with the stage, Mersch-Luxembourg. In the capital, still tours on and around the Pabeierbierg finished. Immediately we know the successor of Greg Van Avermaet. He took it last year with a 29 seconds lead over Xandro Meurisse and 36 seconds on the Frenchman, and Anthony Perez.

The rides:

Wednesday 30 may: luxembourg city last (prologue, 2.3 km)

Thursday 31 may: Luxembourg-Hesperange (186,7 km)

Friday 1 June: Rosport-Schifflange (170,1 km)

Saturday 2 June: Eschweiler-Differdange (163,8 km)

Sunday 3 June: Mersch-Luxembourg (176 km)

The participating teams:

Professional continental teams: Roompot Dutch Lottery (Ned), CCC (Pol), Euskadi-Basque Country (Spa), Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise (Bel), Cofidis (Fra) Veranda’s Willems-Crelan (Fra), Delko-Marseille Provence (Fra), Wanty-Groupe Gobert (Bel), Direct Energy (Fra), WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic (Bel).

Continental teams: Vorarlberg-Santic (Oos), Leopard (Lux), Bike Aid (Germany), Differdange-Losch (Lux) Lotto-Core Haus (Dui).

Leave a Comment