Motorsport Sports

Australian Will Power drives to first win in the mythical Indy 500

Will Power (Penske) has Sunday, the 102nd edition of the 500 Miles of Indianapolis on his name. The 37-year old Australian man shot at his eleventh participation in the famous Indy 500 finally touch.

Power started third and came after 200 laps on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway three seconds before crossing the finish line, than the American Ed Carpenter (Ed Carpenter Racing), which from the pole was started. For some 300,000 supporters took Power only four laps before the end of the pipe. The New Zealander Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi), the mythical car race in 2008 had won, stood third on the podium. The Japanese defending champion Takuma Sato had after a collision, to specify.

Power ended the last ten years, five times in the top 10 of the Indy 500. In 2015, he came very close, but he had to settle with place two. Then he had the victory to his Colombian team mate Juan Pablo Montoya. The Australian won in 2014 in the IndyCar Series, but could never oppergaai shoot. In his eleventh participation managed to Power there in. It is his 34th victory in the IndyCar. Only seven pilots have more wins on their palmares.

Leave a Comment