Cycling Sports

Nieve improvises impressive for a stage win, Froome resists attacks Dumoulin and be sure of a Giro stage win

eb82eb5cf0beee6eb7459358d2b44b25 - Nieve improvises impressive for a stage win, Froome resists attacks Dumoulin and be sure of a Giro stage win

Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott) has the 20th stage of the Giro won. The Spaniard was given carte blanche after leader Simon Yates yesterday completely by the ice, fell, and picked off with an impressive solo in the last mountain stage. Nieve went on the penultimate climb and stopped at the finish two minutes on Robert Gesink (Team LottoNL – Jumbo) and Felix Großschartner (BORA – hansgrohe). Chris Froome (Team Sky) withstood the attacks of Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) and is so sure of the victory.

For the start knew Tom Dumoulin him what to do: all to Chris Froome now, the pink bikes. Easy would that not be, because the Brit of Team Sky made with his piece of art on yesterday’s clear that he has his top form has achieved. Simon Yates was there nothing more in the game. After three stage wins and two solid weeks he lost in the 19th stage 38 (!) minutes, for the start talking he is very relaxed with Froome. A gentlemen, who Yates.

After a fast first hour, we had a large group of 27 riders, which free job of the platoon. It was more Mikel Nieve and Roman Kreuziger (Mitchelton-Scott) , Gianluca Brambilla (Pull-Segafredo), Elia Viviani (Quick Step Floors), Tony Martin (Katusha) and Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo).

Viviani took the road the tussenspurten for the account of, the quadruple stage winner picks up tomorrow and the points jersey to take home. In the peloton worked Astana and Movistar together properly, making the advantage of the leaders somewhat, within the limits remained. Meanwhile, it was yet again clear that the barrel of Yates. The Brit had been early fit. For Yates takes this Giro is three days long.

Front dunde the leading group gradually. Not illogical, the Col Tsecore (cat 1) was a murderous climb: 16 miles long, and the last 5 km with a gradient above 10%. In the descent showed Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida) – who had previously been a ride won – that he is the best descender of the leaders. He took half a minute on the rest. On the Col de Saint-Pantaléon (cat 1) he was called back nabbed.

The second climb of the day was also the end of the donít have any gc ambitions of Thibaut Pinot. That had to solve, was literally silent and lost all of a sudden more than 10 minutes, Yates chasing. In the breakaway saw Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton – Scott), Gianluca Brambilla (Pull – Segafredo) and Felix Großschartner (BORA – hansgrohe) their time has come and the three accelerated from the remaining lead group. The platoon had, meanwhile, committed, and focused on the battle for the overall title, which is announced on the last climb, the Cervinia (cat 1). 4 km from the summit of the Col de Saint-Pantaléon was Nieve solo. He immediately took a nice bonus, and threw themselves down for the 10km long descent.

The pursuers bites occur piece on an impressive Nieve, who doorstoomde on the slopes of the Cervinia. He has performed as a soloist effortlessly to the win, the fifth for Mitchelton-Scott, after Chaves and three-time Yates. A nice consolation prize after the dream of the race, yesterday punctured.

In the group of favorites tried Tom Dumoulin to Chris Froome under pressure. The Dutchman went a couple of times, but saw Froome always fast to follow. The Brit sat alone, but that bother him not. Dumoulin tried it one last time in the tunnel, but went on a counter of Froome. Dumoulin closed thanks to his team mates again, but could Froome not solve the problem. The Brit came together with its Dutch competitor on the measure. No accidents wins Froome tomorrow the Giro.


1. Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton – Scott) in 5u43’48é

2. Robert Gesink (Team LottoNL – Jumbo) +2’17”

3. Felix Großschartner (BORA – hansgrohe) +2’42”

4. Giulio Ciccone (Bardiani – CSF)+3’45”

5. Gianluca Brambilla (Pull – Segafredo)+5’23”

6. Wout Poels (Team Sky)+6’03”

7. Chris Froome (Team Sky)

8. Davide Formolo (BORA – hansgrohe)

9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain – Merida)

10. Richard Carapaz (Movistar Team)

Leave a Comment