Cycling Sports

Number four for Quick Step: Viviani sprint again to a stage win in the Giro

9da33d3011d01ac2647f67a440567fcf - Number four for Quick Step: Viviani sprint again to a stage win in the Giro

Elia Viviani has the seventeenth stage of the Tour of Italy won. The Italian of Quick Step Floors was after 155 kilometres between Riva del Garda and Iseo, the fastest in a bunch sprint. Viviani won for Sam Bennett and Niccolo Bonifazio. Simon Yates remains the leader.

It could in different directions with the 17th stage. Who piloted the platoon of Riva del Garda, on the shore of the famous lake Garda, 155 kilometres to the west in the direction of Iseo, in the Italian Alps and the cut-throat final stage of this Giro in the visor. The ride started with a climb and went fanatic wavy further, including through a slope of the third category, halfway about it. Only another fifty kilometers before the bow was switched on fairly flat roads. Cut to the sprinters have their fun, and allow? This meant their team mates the engine with each other.

A sizable chunk of the openingsklim kept the riders saved. A few crashes even before the official launch, encouraged the organizers to set the pace so the losers all got a chance to re-connect. Only a mile or six in the calves, could there really be gekoerst. That also happened immediately. In a few tabs, a front group of fourteen riders. Without the Belgians but with Salvatore Puccio and David De la Cruz (Sky) and Giovanni Visconti (Bahrain), Davide Villella and Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana), Giulio Ciccone (Bardiani), Mattia Cattaneo and Francesco Gavazzi (Androni), Quentin Jauregui (AG2R), Krists Neilands (Israel), Ruben Fernandez (Movistar), Sebastien Reichenbach (FDJ), Nathan Brown (Education First) and the inevitable Alessandro De Marchi (BMC).

The group experienced severe opposition from the UAE Team of Fabio Aru, I stepped through the Bora-mates of Sam Bennett. The result of all that hustle and bustle was that the peloton into several pieces. Rohan Dennis, the sixth of the ranking, just not at the toes, so that his team mates needed to work to prevent further damage to prevent. Also I won a sat for a moment to doze. Amidst the turmoil, were the front-runners for the axe. Only Jauregui, Cattaneo and Neilands remained in the front (km 40).

Demarrages, demarrages, demarrages

The trio was after a fierce hunting overtaken by nineteen colleagues, while behind their backs Froome and co to re-match the group of rozetruidrager Simon Yates. The front remained Atapuma, Conti, Laengen and Ulissi (UAE), Formolo and Pfingsten (Bora), Montaguti and Jauregui (AG2R), Frapporti, Cattaneo and Masnada (Androni), Luis Leon Sanchez and Villella (Astana), Visconti (Bahrain), Ciccone (Bardiani), De Marchi (BMC), Ladagnous (FDJ), Dayer Quintana (Movistar), Stybar (Quick-Step), Brown (Education First), Neilands (Israel) and Puccio (Sky). A safe-conduct was still not in. It remained demarrages rain in the main body, so that it did not come as a surprise that after after one-hour prices for more than 45 km were doorgejaagd. The adhesive is picked up not in the extensive ahead of the pack, so the pack quickly caught up. With the exception of the duo Frapporti-Atapuma. The former, if the first intermediate sprint enjoy (km 58), but was the adventure for them.

Red lantern Fonzi (Willier Triestina) was the next troublemaker, followed by Ben Hermans (Israel Cycling) and Cattaneo (Androni). A pressing Hermans got on the colletje third category of aid of the Sky-duo Poels and Elissonde, Sanchez (Astana), Visconti (Bahrain), Geniez (AG2R) and De Marchi (BMC). They had the company of the German Schachmann (Quick Step). Finally can the chrono be used: 30”” on the top (km 71). Behind their backs was still not surrendered. The difference continued to be minimal. Ellissonde, Visconti, Geniez and Schachmann homed, Torres (Androni) made the leap from the reduced group. While Torres had to solve, were given the other four a boni of 25’ at each other. Leader Yates put his men at the head of the platoon to the shop finally to cooling. After two hours there was an average of 43,750 km/h on the counter.

Still sprinting

The unexpected absence of wind allowed the leaders to walk out to 1’50’, while the Bardiani duo Andreetta-Barbin a hopeless pursuit tried. The men of the Lotto NL (Van Poppel) and found it then called it a day and received help from their Bora counterparts (Bennett). In short: after Poels and Hermans just before, all had to solve, also put Sanchez and The Marche located right on well 11 km from the finish, and beckoning as the apotheosis of a seething stage is still a sprint. Attempts of, inter alia, Brambilla, Stybar and Lammertink yielded nothing.

On wet asphalt stormed the gang towards the finish. Exemplary and piloted by team-mate Sabatini sailed Elia Viviani for the guidance to be handsome to resist a remonte San Bennett. Well now for a fourth stage win and some extra edge in the battle for the purple jersey. Jens Debusschere came in as fifth on the line.


1. Elia Viviani (Ita/QST) in 3u19:57 (avg.: 46.5 km/h)
2. Sam Bennett (Ipr/BOH) at 0:00
3. Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita/TPM) 0:00
4. Danny van Poppel (Ned/TLJ) 0:00
5. Jens Debusschere (Bel/LTS) 0:00
6. Kristian Sbaragli (Ita/ICA) 0:00
7. Jempy Drucker (Lux/BMC) 0:00
8. Sacha Modolo (Ita/EFD) 0:00
9. Andrea Vendrame (Ita/ANS) 0:00
10. José Goncalves (Por/TKA) 0:00


1. Simon Yates (GBr/MTS) the 2866,4 km in 69u59:11 (avg. 40,95 km/h)
2. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/SUN) at 0:56
3. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita/TPM) 03:11
4. Chris Froome (GBr/SKY) 03:50
5. Thibaut Pinot (Fra/GFC) 04:19
6. Rohan Dennis (Aus/BMC) 05:04
7. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/AST) 05:37
8. Pello Bilbao (Spa/AST) 06:02
9. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/MOV) 06:07
10. George Bennett (Ur/TLJ) 07:01

Leave a Comment