Football Sports

Morocco with Mehdi Carcela and ex-players of Club Brugge and Anderlecht for the world cup in Russia

072e1be3f6832b70b9e1270563440fed - Morocco with Mehdi Carcela and ex-players of Club Brugge and Anderlecht for the world cup in Russia

The Moroccan football federation (FRMF) has Thursday his 23-man selection for the world cup next month in Russia (June 14-July 15) announced. Mehdi Carcela (Standard) could have been in scorching form in the Jupiler Pro League silver plating with a ticket for the world Cup. Also Mbark Boussoufa (ex-Gent and Anderlecht) and Nabil Dirar (ex-Westerlo and Club Brugge) belong to the selection of national coach Hervé Renard.

The 28-year-old Carcela returned in January for the third time back at the Sclessin, after a disappointing passage in Olympiakos. In Liège, he led Standard to bekerwinst and an impressive range of in Play-Off I. Standard began as the sixth in the play-offs, but Sunday provided a point near Charleroi, ensuring second place. Carcela was good for five goals and ten assists in seventeen parties. In Morocco, he was in nineteen international matches was only good for one goal. His last appearance dates from 5 september, when he had eight minutes to cover against Mali.

Morocco in Group B against Iran (June 15), Portugal (20 June) and Spain (June 25). It is for the Moroccans the first world cup-participation since 1998, their fifth in total. Their best result dates back to the world Cup in 1986, when the second round was achieved. In 1970, 1994 and 1998 survived the Lions of the Atlas each of the first round.


Goalies: Munir Mohamedi (Numancia/Spa), Yassine Bounou (Girona/Spa), Ahmed Red Tagnaouti (IR Tanger/Mar)

Defenders: Mehdi Benatia (Juventus/Ita), Romain Saïss (Wolverhampton Wanderers/Eng), Manuel Da Costa (Basaksehirspor/Tur), Achraf Hakimi (Real Madrid/Spa), Nabil Dirar (Fenerbahçe/Tur), Badr Banoun (Raja Casablanca/Mar), Hamza Mendyl (Lille/Fra)

Midfielders: Youssef Ait Bennasser (Caen/Fra), Mehdi Carcela (Standard/BEL), Karim El Ahmadi (Feyenoord/Netherlands), Hakim Ziyech (Ajax/Ned), Younes Belhanda (Galatasaray/Tur), Fayçal Fajr (Barcelona/Spa), Nordin Amrabat (Leganés/Spa), Amine Harit (Schalke 04/Ger), Mbark Boussoufa (Al-Jazira/UAE), Sofyan Amrabat (Feyenoord/Netherlands)

Attackers: Aziz Bouhaddouz (St. Pauli/Ger), Ayoub El Kaabi (RS Berkane/Mar), Khalid Boutaïb (Malatyaspor/Tur)

Reserves: Oualid El Hajjam (Amiens/Fra), Youssef And Nesyri (Malaga/Spa), Noussair Mazraoui (Ajax/Ned)

Leave a Comment