Cycling Sports

The AG2R La Mondiale team for Venturini and attracts non-Belgians to Giro

6ef481ad63d5e09f4afa048d05161547 - The AG2R La Mondiale team for Venturini and attracts non-Belgians to Giro

The French cyclocross rider Clément Venturini on may 4, his debut in the Giro. The rider of the AG2R La Mondiale team will be the servant of leader Alexandre Geniez.

The 24-year-old Venturini, who in 2017 French champion in cyclo-cross and also in 2011, the world championship for juniors in the field, won, start in Jerusalem on his first big tour. He is there the 30-year-old Alexandre Geniez, who is already familiar with the Giro. In 2014 took Geniez for the first time at the Giro and he finished immediately the thirteenth. A year later he was even ninth. But in his last two entries he had always specify in the fourth stage.

This year picked up Geniez all three victories. “He’ll try to be a good classification to drive, but also aims for a stage win,” says Vincent Lavenu, the team leader of the AG2R La Mondiale team. “On a good ranking aim is the best way to stay focused.”

The Belgians Jan Bakelants, Oliver Naesen and Stijn Vandenbergh will not take.

The selection of AG2R La Mondiale at the Giro:

Alexandre Geniez (Fra), François Bidard (Fra), Mikaël Chérel (Fra), Nico Denz (Ger), Hubert Dupont (Fra), Quentin Jauregui (Fra), Matteo Montaguti (Ita), Clément Venturini (Fra)

Groupama-FDJ card draw Pinot

Thibaut Pinot start to the Giro as team leader of Groupama-FDJ. He is assisted by his permanent servants.

Five team mates that Pinot last year to fourth place in the Giro boosted, are there again this year: the French William Bonnet, Matthieu Ladagnous and Jérémy Roy and the Swiss Steve Morabito and Sébastien Reichenbach. Two new pawns in the squad are the Austrian Georg Preidler and the Frenchman Anthony Roux.

Thibaut Pinot won last year a stage in the Giro and finished a minute and seventeen seconds of the Dutch cyclist Tom Dumoulin. On 4 may start Pinot in Jerusalem on his tenth lap.

The crew of Groupama-FDJ at the Giro:

Thibaut Pinot (Fra), William Bonnet (Fra), Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra), Steve Morabito (Sui), Georg Preidler (Austria), Sébastien Reichenbach (Sui), Anthony Roux (Fra), Jérémy Roy (Fra).

Leave a Comment