Cycling Sports

After a subdued start pulling Brabantse pijl Wednesday new look riders open on 27 angry slopes

Wednesday is the 58th edition of the Brabant Arrow (1.BC), a glance new riders opened up. Most of the specialists of the kasseiwerk clean place, after all, for the pocketklimmers. By the tragic fall of Michael Goolaerts last Sunday in Paris-Roubaix, where the rider was killed, one minute silence held before the start.

The Brabant Arrow is traditionally the run-up to the Amstel, Flèche wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

Subdued start

“In addition to the minute’s silence will be, in comparison with other years, everything is much serener expired”, organiser Pascal Demol. “On the performance of the team on the starting podium in Leuven will be the team of Veranda’s Willems-Crelan the last turn. After one minute of silence, we start at 12: 30 from the Grand-place. The soldiers of the late Michael Goolaerts will be the peloton’s exit from the first loop around the start town of Leuven. The official departure will have a minute of silence to follow.”

Follow here on the starting podium LIVE the Brabant Arrow!

27 slopes

The Smeysberg, after 13 miles, this year for the first climb of the day. Through the Holstheide, that the riders are exceptionally down, again, on the traditional route. Via Braine-le-Chateau, Beersel, Halle, Ittre, Waterloo and Department leads to 131,8 km on the Brusselsesteenweg of Overijse. Wait another three local laps, each of which is 23.3 km. In which local circuits are always the climbs of the Hagaard, Hertstraat, Holstheide, Ijskelderlaan and the Schavei understood. In total waiting, up to 27 (nasty) climbs.

The 27 slopes: Smeysberg (13 km), Rue Hal (56 km), Alsemberg (66 km), Bruineput (71 km), Krabosstraat (74 km), Rue de Nivelles (82 km), Chaussée de Bruxelles (92 km), Rue François Dubois (109 km), Hertstraat (115 km), Holstheide (128 km), Ijskelderlaan (128 km), Schavei (132 km), Hagaard (135 km), Hertstraat (138 km), Holstheide (145 km), Ijskelderlaan (151 km), Schavei (155 km), Hagaard (158 km), Hertstraat (161 km), Holstheide (168 km), Ijskelderlaan (174 km), Schavei (178 km), Hagaard (181 km), Hertstraat (185 km), Holstheide (192 km), Ijskelderlaan (198 km), Schavei (202 km)

Successor for Colbrelli

With Bahrain-Merida, BMC, Lotto Soudal, Mitchelton-Scott, Quick-Step Floors, LottoNL-Jumbo, Team Dimension Data there are seven WorldTeams at the start.

Last year took the victory to the Italian Sonny Colbrelli. Who took it after a sprint finish with eight for the Czech Petr Vakoc andTiesj Benoot. Colbrelli is now also of the party and is the spearhead of Bahrain-Merida, together with his teammate Enrico Gasparotto. The latter was in 2016 still second after Petr Vakoc.

Tiesj Benoot performs with Tim Wellens , the troops of Lotto Soudal. In that other Belgian WorldTourteam Quick-Step Floors include among others, Bob Jungels and Rémi Cavagna. Petr Vakoc is missing in ‘The Wolfpack’ due to injury. Also , Dylan Teuns (BMC) and Roman Kreuziger (Michtelton-Scott) may, to a very large wreath of contenders to the final victory count.

The participating teams:

WorldTour: Bahrain-Merida, BMC, Lotto-Soudal, Mitchelton-Scott, Quick-Step Floors, Dimension Data, LottoNL-Jumbo

Professional continental teams: Aqua Blue Sport, CCC, Cofidis, Direct Energy, Israel CA, Nippo-Vini Fantini, Roompot Dutch Lottery, Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise, Fortuneo-Samsic, Novo Nordisk, Verandas Willems-Crelan, Vital Concept, Wanty-Groupe Gobert, WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic

Click here to view the full list of participants!

List of achievements since 1998

1998: Johan Museeuw

1999: Michele Bartoli (Ita)

2000: Johan Museeuw

2001: Michael Boogerd (Ned)

2002: Fabien De Waele

2003: Michael Boogerd (Ned)

2004: Luca Paolini (Ita)

2005: Oscar Freire (Spa)

2006: Oscar Freire (Spa)

2007: Oscar Freire (Spa)

2008: Sylvain Chavanel (Fra)

2009: Anthony Geslin (Fra)

2010: Sébastien Rosseler

2011: Philippe Gilbert

2012: Thomas Voeckler (Fra)

2013: Peter Sagan (Slk)

2014: Philippe Gilbert

2015: Ben Hermans

2016: Petr Vakoc (Ch)

2017: Sonny Colbrelli (Ita)

Leave a Comment