Cycling Sports

73rd edition of Dwars door Vlaanderen are looking for a successor for Yves Lampaert

cf76d6bc5e2695f8fa8526dec574a0c8 - 73rd edition of Dwars door Vlaanderen are looking for a successor for Yves Lampaert

The 73rd edition of Dwars door Vlaanderen was not only a new date assigned, the Wednesday before the Tour of Flanders, but a phd also to the category WorldTour. The organizers adapted their course, and so drive the peloton between the starting location Roeselare and finishzone Waregem ‘only’ 180,1 km, along the twelve slopes.

It used to be a stage race Three days of De Panne-Koksijde in the run-up to the Tour of Flanders, this year that honor is reserved for Dwars door Vlaanderen. The starting point remains Roeselare. From there it goes in a first loop to the Kluisberg and Knokteberg. The two ramps are then done, after 122 km of the Kortekeer to cut. Through the Steenbeekdries it goes towards the Hill, Pasture and again the Knokteberg. With the Holstraat and Nokereberg, in the middle of finals, then set course for Waregem, where 6 kilometres from the finish the kasseizone of the Herlegemstraat in Kruishoutem.

Quick Step Floors delivers with Yves Lampaert (2017) and Niki Terpstra (2012 and 2014), two ex-winners. The same song at Lotto Soudal, with Jens Debusschere (2016) and Jelle Wallays (2015) on the start list. Also the winner of 2013 will be there. Oscar Gatto gets in Astana with the support of Laurens De Vreese. Sylvain Chavanel, the winner in 2008, then again the troops in the French Direct Energy. And then there are riders such as Belgian champion Oliver Naesen (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo), Sep Vanmarcke (EF Education First-Drapac) and Edward Theuns (Sunweb) in the debates mix. Also Alejandro Valverde and Nairo Quintana bags to Roeselare. The Movistar riders want in the flemish region what kasseigevoel experience in the prospect of the upcoming Tour de France and the kasseirit from Arras to Roubaix on 15 July.

Last year took the victory in Waregem to Yves Lampaert. He got it when Philippe Gilbert and the Kazach Alexey Lutsenko.

Technical data sheet

The slopes:

Kluisberg (83 km), Knokteberg (90 km), Kluisberg (107 km), Knokteberg (115 km), Kortekeer (122 km), Steenbeekdries (126 km), the Taaienberg (128 km), Pasture (138 km), Knokteberg (147 miles), fox’s cave (159 km), Holstraat (164 km), Nokerenberg (171 km)

The main cobblestone sections:

Mariaborrestraat 2400m (Maarkedal 124 km), Varentstraat 2000m (Kerkhove 154 km), Herlegemstraat 800m (Kruishoutem 171 km)

The participating teams:


Quick Step Floors, BMC, Ag2r-La Mondiale, Lotto Soudal, Trek Segafredo, Movistar, EF Education First-Drapac, Astana, Team Sunweb, Team Sky, UAE Team Emirates, Bahrain-Merida, Katusha-Alpecin, Dimension Data, LottoNL-Jumbo, Bora-Hansgrohe, Mitchelton-Scott


Veranda’s Willems-Crelan, Wanty-Groupe Gobert, Direct Energy, Cofidis, Aqua Blue Sports, Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise, WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic, Israel CA

Hall of fame since 1998:

1998: Tom Steels

1999: Johan Museeuw

2000: Tristan Hoffman (Ned)

2001: Niko Eeckhout

2002: Baden Cooke (Aus)

2003: Robbie McEwen (Aus)

2004: Ludovic Capelle

2005: Niko Eeckhout

2006: Frederik Veuchelen

2007: Tom Boonen

2008: Sylvain Chavanel (Fra)

2009: Kevin Van Impe

2010: Matti Breschel (Den)

2011: Nick Nuyens

2012: Niki Terpstra (Ned)

2013: Oscar Gatto (Ita)

2014: Niki Terpstra (Ned)

2015: Jelle Wallays

2016: Jens Debusschere

2017: Yves Lampaert

Leave a Comment