Cycling Sports

Young Brit Lawless rushes to first profzege in International Wielerweek Coppi e Bartali

e63d8333febb3d3a166da362d16ea7cc - Young Brit Lawless rushes to first profzege in International Wielerweek Coppi e Bartali

Christopher Lawless (Team Sky) has Saturday the third stage in the International Wielerweek Coppi e Bartali (cat. 2.1) won. The Brit ran after 171 km in Crevalcore, to the victory, for the Italians Paolo Toto and Lorenzo Rota. His Italian team-mate Diego Rosa retained his leader’s jersey.

In a stage that on paper was intended for quick guys, chose our compatriot Dimitri Peyskens, Rémy Di Grégorio, Michal Paluta, Peter Williams and Christofer Jurado for an early flight. After a fight of about 35 km were Marco Coledan and Jacopo Mosca managed to complete the connection. Much ahead reason for the seven escapees never at each other. Up to 3:05 on the peloton, where Team Sky the pace for leader, Diego Rosa.

At 35 kilometers from the finish line were the front-runners nabbed, before the peloton prepared for the bunch sprint. That was, however, beyond Sky reckoned that the pace is so high loved that the peloton broke up. The Dutchman Koen Bouwman, third in the state, missed the battle and ended up in a second group of that in a minute would finish the race. His compatriot Bauke Mollema, Friday’s stage winner and second in the state, was in the front group and did have a view on the victory. He sums up Sunday’s closing time trial at 7 seconds behind klassementsleider Rosa.

At the front, the sprint is still marred by a crash. The 22-year-old Lawless was not hindered and sprinted to his first profzege.

– Rash –

1. Christopher Lawless (GBr) – 171 km in 3u47’53”

2. Paolo Toto (Ita) all same time

3. Lorenzo Rota (Ita)

4. Emils Liepins (Note)

5. Richard Carapaz (Ecu)

6. Mauro Finetto (Ita)

7. Fabio Felline (Ita)

8. Alex Turrin (Ita)

9. Nicola Bagioli (Ita)

10. Diego Rosa (Ita)

– Stand –

1. Diego Rosa (Ita) – in 9u52’46”

2. Bauke Mollema (Ned) – 7”

3. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) – 38”

4. Lucas Hamilton (Aus) – 47”

5. Fausto Masnada (Ita) – 1’22”

6. Christopher Juul-Jensen (Den) – z.t.

7. Pavel Sivakov (Rus) – 1’26”

8. Koen Bouwman (Ned) – 1’32”

9. Ivan Ramiro Sosa (Col) – 1’39”

10. Alex Turrin (Ita) – 1’50”

Leave a Comment