Cycling Sports

Italians are crazy: Vincenzo Nibali wins Milan-Sanremo after sanction number

0d971e4f6630eaf4525c5596e1976273 - Italians are crazy: Vincenzo Nibali wins Milan-Sanremo after sanction number

Vincenzo Nibali has the 109e edition of Milan-san remo (World Tour) won. The rain made the run-heavy, luckily the sun shone in the treacherous finale. Therein determined, Team Sky and especially FDJ, however the pace until Nibali attacked on the Poggio. The Italian loved a little stand against the hunting sprintersploegen: what a song! It is the first Italian winner of La Primavera since 2006.

To 10u10 sounded in a wet Milan launched the first classical Monument of the cycling season. With 291 miles is Milan-Sanremo, also in 2018, the longest classic. Traditionally, we were given a quiet run-up to the finale could break loose on the Poggio.

The flight of nine

Nine riders were not intimidated by the rain or the many miles and pulled in kilometer zero already in the attack, among them, no Belgian, but four Italians signed or present for its own people. It turned out also the flight of the day, the nine names in a row: Charles Planet (TNN), Mirco Maestri (BRD), Matteo Bono (UAD), Evgeny Kobernyak (GAZ), Dennis van Winden ,(ICA), Guy Sagiv (ICA), Lorenzo Rota (BRD), Sho Hatsuyama (NIP) and Jacopo Mosca (WANTS).

The advantage of the escapees ran to a maximum of seven minutes. On the first climb of the day, the Passo del turchino trait, came the peloton suddenly, however, up to a minute and a half back. With still 150 miles to drive, however, it was much too early for the flight to count, because then that would be the teams of the favourites a lot more work to maintain control. And so were the nine at the front soon to be a clue of four minutes.

Favorites put team mates at work

So did the riders in relative peace along the Riviera to the Capi, the following hellingzone with Capo Mele, Capo Cervo and Capo Berta. Among others, André Greipel and Alexander Kristoff went on the road against the plain, but could continue.

In the peloton transformed Bora-Hansgrohe, Team Sky and Quick Step Floors most of the work in the service of the three favourites, Peter Sagan, Michal Kwiatkowski and Philippe Gilbert that a throw did to his fourth Monument. The fourth favorite, Greg Van Avermaet, kept still aloof. Tim Declercq, Juraj Sagan and Luke Rowe were the workers of service.

After a little more than 200 kilometres brightened the open and could regenjasjes and overschoentjes overboard.

Song of the escapees sung just before Cipressa

On the Capo Berta splashed the front of the race apart and demolition (back of the) pack to a half a minute, among others Marcel Kittel had to go through all that violence is a hole, and would a little later the role permanently should solve the problem.

Just before the Cipressa at 30 kilometers from the finish, the song was the last escapees sung and the final in all of the violence erupting.

Impressive FDJ, heavy fall Cavendish

Immediately broke off the fight for a good position on the climb of the Cipressa, with the necessary push-and-pull. But on that penultimate climb of the day kept everything together, with Team Sky that the pace which not even the attack was thought… Fast guys like Greipel, Démare, Viviani, and even Cavendish in spite of a broken rib, saw the like to happen. Also in the descent continued all along, with an impressive FDJ at the front.

The Poggio. On the way to the very last slope popped up just as the train of Lotto-Soudal, but it was the French FDJ ex-winner Démare that impression remained. At the foot of the Poggio came to the embattled Cavendish even a spectacular fall, belgian champion Naesen was by that fall also stopped.

Nibali Italians crazy with sanction number

Burghardt stormed which Poggio, in the service of team leader peter Sagan, the German champion, however, was countered by Drucker. Also the Luxemburger of BMC, however, was hopeless against a bunch of peloton where Vincenzo Nibali, however, is not the love theme and in the attack caught. The Italian public was crazy when he more than two hundred meters picked up.

“The Shark of Messina” is a meesterdaler and dived down with a dozen seconds ahead of Sagan and Co. With Matteo Trentin pulled another Italian in the counter-attack, leaving Nibali with only 7 seconds clue to the last 2.5 flat miles began…

One against all, and which one wins!

It was a super exciting fight of one against all, but the Italian kept handsome stand! Caleb Ewan won barely a second later the pelotonsprint to the second place, for Arnaud Démare. Jürgen Roelandts was the first belgian on the fifth place, Jasper Stuyven was the second fellow in the top-10.


1. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain – Merida)

2. Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton – Scott)

3. Arnaud Démare (Groupama – FDJ)

4. Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates)

5. Jürgen Roelandts (BMC Racing Team)

6. Peter Sagan (BORA – hansgrohe)

7. Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)

8. Magnus Cort Nielsen (Astana Pro Team)

9. Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain – Merida)

10. Jasper Stuyven (Trek – Segafredo)

Leave a Comment