Football Sports

One club in two reached in nine years of Play-off 1

eeed2f49b41dc15437294ddf0a35b282 - One club in two reached in nine years of Play-off 1

For the ninth year in a row, for the title in the Jupiler Pro League play-offs finished. Since the importation in the 2009-2010 season were eleven clubs, or one club to two, managed to qualify for Play off 1.

Standard captured on the slotspeeldag the last spot in PO1. The Rouches join Club Brugge, Anderlecht, Sporting Charleroi, AA Gent and KRC Genk. For the first time since 2012, the so-called G5 teams even. Club Brugge and Anderlecht missed PO1 never. AA Gent is a seventh participation, Standard and Genk for the sixth time. Then follow the absent Zulte Waregem (6), KV Kortrijk (3) and Lokeren (3). Sporting Charleroi finished for the third time in the top six.

One out of two

On the 22 teams that in the past nine seasons in the Jupiler Pro League pigmented, reached there 11 Play-off 1. Except for the above mentioned teams are also STVV (2010) and KV Oostende (2016), which it succeeded as a phd candidate. KV Mechelen ended up all the most frequently on the seventh place (2010, 2011, and 2017).

Since the play-offs were created, captured, RSC Anderlecht, the most titles. The Inhabitants, crowned five times to win a national championship. Genk, AA Gent and Club Brugge share the other league titles. The club as a leader to the play-offs start, kept it 5 to 8 times full to the end.

The play-offs are introduced to more big game to generate, whereby the level of the league and the European competitiveness increased. Since 2009, four Belgian clubs inside the quarter-finals of the Europa League. In the age without play-offs was that ago of the campaign of Anderlecht in 1996-1997.


Leave a Comment