Cycling Sports

Simon Yates climbs to impressive victory and yellow in Paris-Nice, the Belgians play again starring

e023274753af97a5afb3a8149c12874a - Simon Yates climbs to impressive victory and yellow in Paris-Nice, the Belgians play again starring

Simon Yates, the seventh and penultimate stage of Paris-Nice won. The uitgeregende ride with a host of problems was coloured by a long breakaway of eight riders. Just like yesterday, it was Thomas De Gendt and he allowed himself to notice. On each slope, he picked up the full loot, so he the mountains conquered. In an exciting final it was Simon Yates the strongest, he is also the new leader. Dylan Teuns had a strong final climb and came in second, Wellens was fifth.

After just ten kilometres down the road was the long flight. A surprise was the presence of Thomas De Gendt not, our fellow countryman, was also on Friday in the great escape. Today he got the company of Tony Gallopin, Jesus Herrada, Amaël Moinard, Nicolas Roche, Alessandro De Marchi, Jarlinson Pantano and Rory Sutherland

The purpose of The Gendt seemed clear: the race to conquer. The man of the Lotto-Soudal always came first on the slopes along the way. He succeeded in his goal and allowed the spheres to the shoulders the last stage position.

Meanwhile, it was raining, the specifications in this uitgeregende stage. Arnaud Démare decided not to start, on the road gifts also include Alexander Kristoff and Daniel Martin decided to stop working. In the peloton knew Wellens a rainy day. The leader of Lotto-Soudal reed first leak, and then turned back but was then surprise when the peloton passed. Only 33 km from the finish took our compatriot, one of the favorites for the overall victory, the connection with the rest of the favorites.

In the descent of the Côte de Villars-sur-Var, the fourth of five slopes, The Marchi about the bareel and in the ravine. As if by magic crept into the Italian from BMC, not much later just back on his bike.

The front was Gallopin, the last survivor of the long flight, 13 km from the finish today. The game of favorites was able to start and attack from Simon Yates was the biggest names. He got Izagirre in his wake at four kilometers from the finish, Henao followed something away. Geletruidrager Luis Leon Sanchez had thrown overboard, later followed also Julian Alaphilippe. The Belgians did well, Teuns did with a sharp demarrage trying to get to the leaders to jump.

Wellens wanted his fellow countryman not just let it go, but who could the wheel of Teuns not quite get hold of it. Yates won the stage and takes yellow. Teuns finished his demarrage off with a handsome second place, for Izagirre. Wellens climbed to a fifth place.


1. Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott) 5:02:54

2. Dylan Teuns (BMC Racing Team) +8”

3. Ion Izagirre (Bahrain – Merida)

4. Gorka Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida) + 13”

5. Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal)

Leave a Comment