Cycling Sports

Quick Step demonstrates in GP Le Samyn: Terpstra wins the coldest race of the year, for team-mate Gilbert

94c40c570e9c716e4b78fcac30e6e7b9 - Quick Step demonstrates in GP Le Samyn: Terpstra wins the coldest race of the year, for team-mate Gilbert

Niki Terpstra has the fiftieth (and icy) edition of the GP Le Samyn won the first of ten races in the Napoleon Games Cycling Cup. He came solo to in Dour, after his team Quick Step Floors, a whole race had demonstrated: teammate Philippe Gilbert was even second, for medevluchter Damien Gaudin (Direct Energy)

It was freezing still strong when the riders are in Quaregnon something after the afternoon, well hidden in their warm koerskledij, located on the corridor traveled for 200 miles on the road 16 cobblestones. The temperature would never be above zero degrees rise…

Seven riders left in the cold is not to their heart and reason soon a bonus of more than two minutes together. The seven names: Tom Devriendt (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Quentin Jauregui (AG2R), Casper Pedersen (Aqua Blue Sport), Damien Gaudin (Direct Energy), Johan Lebon (Vital Concept), Maxime Daniel (Fortuneo) and Franklin Six (WB Aqua Protect) the goddaughter of the late Frank Vandenbroucke.

Punishment number of Quick Step

Still halfway down the course, however, is completely open when a group of ten riders wegsprong from the pack, looking for the escapees. Remarkable: all seven of the riders of Quick Step Floors were initially: Philippe Gilbert, Tim Declercq, Davide Martinelli, Florian Sénéchal, Zdenek Stybar and Niki Terpstra made a quick jump forward, only Fabio Jakobsen fell at the front road after a bandbreuk. Also Tosh Van der Sande, Alex Kirsch and Boris Vallée sheaves with the blue train.

The 16 leaders took a quick half-minute lead on the peloton, but also there they were not silent. The murderous pace, and some tempoversnellingen demanded in front also victims and, ultimately, remained in the front of five male about: Tosh Van der Sande (Lotto-Soudal), Alex Kirsch (WB Aqua Protect), Damien Gaudin (Direct Energy) and Quickstepper Niki Terpstra, and Philippe Gilbert.

Bad luck for Gilbert, with Roubaix-bike

Gilbert (without gloves!) wanted to clearly show in the first course in “his” Wallonia. But at 60 kilometers from the finish he was the front washed away by bad luck. Gilbert wanted to make today his new Roubaix-bike testing, but that was no unqualified success. redeem for a normal instance, and – worse – had his partners let it ride. After the fietswissel he could, however, soon his place in the front of back taking.

ALSO READ: The Roubaix-bike from Gilbert: with new gadget to sprint like Stybar last year to avoid

Two in five will be a two on three

Defending champion Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) showed to be active in the chase, but Quick-Step and Lotto-Soudal protect the flight and kept a lot of good closed.

With a clue of something more than half a minute remained also all playable. Just before the start of the final lap drew Gilbert and Terpstra, however, again significantly, and only the Frenchman Gaudin could follow. The two continued the Quick Step duo to make an impression. In the chase, Van der Sande and Kirsch overtaken by Of Keirbulck, Bagdonas and Petit but the new five followed at 40 seconds.

Terpstra counterbalances attack of… Gilbert

At 17 kilometers from the finish line started at the front of the ploegenspel: Gilbert jumped as the first way, and so it had Gaudin in the chase. But for the Frenchman, the hole had poem, jumped suddenly Terpstra road on the other side of the road. The Dutchman held and picked up his first win of the season after a disappointing Flemish opening weekend. It is also the second time that Terpstra wins in Dour: also in 2016, he won there already.

Gilbert was in the final legs to spare in the wheel of Gaudin and could then also easy ejection into second place. Gaudin was rewarded for his strong race with a third place, was against this duo are really in.


1. Niki Terpstra

2. Philippe Gilbert

3. Damien Gaudin

Standings Napoleon Games Cycling Cup

(to follow)

Calendar Napoleon Games Cycling Cup

4/3: Museeuw Classic – Ichtegem; 20/5: GP Marcel Kint – Zwevegem; 2/6: June Arrow – Heist-op-den-Berg; 19/6: Halle-Ingooigem – Ingooigem; 4/8: Dwars door het Hageland – Diest; 14/9: Koolskamp Curonian – Koolskamp; 16/9: GP Jef Scherens – Leuven; 22/9: the eurometropole Tour – Tournai; 2/10: Binche – Chimay – Binche.

Scoring Napoleon Games Cycling Cup

There are points for the top fifteen of the daguitslag: 16-14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1. There are on the road each time, however, three tussensprinten (3-2-1) whose points count towards the ranking.

Leave a Comment