Cycling Sports

Malling Siggaard win exciting Omloop het Nieuwsblad, the women after bunch sprint

a3b1e3f73ef05fcfc9b1022ceb16973e - Malling Siggaard win exciting Omloop het Nieuwsblad, the women after bunch sprint

Malling Siggaard (Team VIRTU Cycling) has the Omloop het Nieuwsblad, the women on her name gescreven. After a long afvallingsrace about 122 km, eight slopes and three heavy cobblestones, the Danish, the fastest in a sprint with a large group, for Alexis Ryan.

The women made an elongated afvallingsrace of. The cobblestones of the Haaghoek,the climbs of the Leberg, the Berendries and the Molenberg… there was no really someone off.

But on the Valkenberg it was touch. Nine women made the leap and reason against the Tenbosse immediately a bonus of 50 seconds: Mackaay, Canuel, Majerus, Spratt, Hosking, Cecchini, Rowe, Longo – Borghini and Batagelj. This Was finally a good flight.

The peloton wanted to not just let them be and continued pressure, the difference slinkte to 30 seconds with 25 kilometres to go. The doubt hit the front on the way to the Wall, the nine women looked to each other and lost speed. It played in the map of the chasing peloton. In Geraardsbergen, in the sight of the Wall, were the nine mounted and could everything on a fully-loaded slope erupt.

Front hit or no one way, back was the door still open. A thinned out peloton came together atop the legendary slope, which in the Circulation was restored. On the way to the Bosberg, thus, could still all happen. About 30 women were still chances on the victory, it promised an exciting final. In the meantime made a lot of koersfans on Twitter upset that there is nothing of the Circulation of the women on television or the internet to follow.

More and more it became clear that a bunch sprint would move, because the organization asked the extra space at the finish line. The Bosberg cared neither for separation and so dashed into a large group at the finish in Meerbeke. The slijtageslag by the women, it was decided in the sprint, and it was Malling Siggaard the fastest. Alexis Ryan was second.

– Rash-

1.Christina Siggaard

2.Alexis Ryan

3.Maria Giulia Confalonieri

Leave a Comment