Cycling Sports

Spectacle is guaranteed to be in Omloop het Nieuwsblad for women: all of the top signs present

b16a32a3aca37a8ae8dafe3104fa7db2 - Spectacle is guaranteed to be in Omloop het Nieuwsblad for women: all of the top signs present

Just as the men ride and the women next Saturday in their Omloop het Nieuwsblad (WE 1.1). They do this just as the men with the start in Ghent and arrival in Meerbeke. The women work in their thirteenth edition 122 kilometers, laced with eight slopes and three heavy cobblestones.

Last year took the victory in the Circulation to the Dutch Lucinda Brand. She took the time from her compatriot Chantal Blaak. The world champion grabbed the last two years, each time just next to the victory. Annemiek van Vleuten completed a whole of the Dutch stage. All three of the Dutch top draw Saturday present.

Never won a Belgian cyclist, the opening classic in their own country. Jolien D’hoore, last year’s seventh, is part of the strong Mitchelton-Scott and there is a ploegmate of Van Vleuten. She is the main national hope. Moreover, also the ex-winner of 2013, Tiffany Cromwell, her appearance. The Australian may, within its Canyon-Sramteam count on the support of the Italian Elena Cecchini.

Finally, there is Elisa Longo Borghini. The ex-winner of the Tour of Flanders 2015 wishes on Flemish roads even show. The field looks already very nice. The entire top ten of last year, will be Saturday at 11: 45am and the start at the Emile Clauslaan in Ghent. About 15u18 know who the Belgian opening classic with the women on his name knows how to write.

The slopes: Katteberg (59 km), Molenberg (69 km), Leberg (80 km), the Berendries (84 km), the Valkenberg (89 km), Tenbosse (96 km), the Muur van Geraardsbergen (106 km), Bosberg (110 km)

The main kasseizones: Ruiterstraat 800m (Mater 60 km), Jagerij 800m (Mater 62 km), Haaghoek 2000m (Sint-Kornelis-Horebeke 77 km), Vests 400m (Geraardsbergen 104 km)

The participating teams: Team Sunweb, Boels-Dolmans, Mitchelton-Scott, Doltcini, Experza-Footlogix, Lotto-Soudal Ladies, Ale Cipollini, Canyon-Sram, Cyclance Pro Cycling, FDJ,-Aquitaine, Futuroscope, Health Mate-Cyclelive, Hitec Products-Birk Sport, Parkhotel Valkenburg, Valcar-PBM, Waowdeals-PCT, Wiggle, High 5, BTC City Ljubljana, Virtu Cycling, Isorex, Jos Feron Lady Force, Kitchens Redant, Autoglas Wetteren, Equano-Wase Sun, The Sprinters Malderen

Palmares: 2017: Lucinda Brand (Ned) 2016: Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) 2015: Anna van der Breggen (Ned) 2014: Amy Pieters (Ned) 2013: Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) 2012: Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) 2011: Emma Johansson (Swe) 2010: Emma Johansson (Swe) 2009: Suzanne de Goede (Ned) 2008: Kirsten Wild (Ned) 2007: Mie Bekker-Lacota (Den) 2006: Suzanne de Goede (Ned)

Leave a Comment