Cycling Sports

Kwiatkowski commits coup in Tour of Algarve and picks up both the final stage as the race

767e27d9469ce6c5700df3710cd584a1 - Kwiatkowski commits coup in Tour of Algarve and picks up both the final stage as the race

Michal Kwiatkwoski (Team Sky) has to eindwinaar crowned the Tour of the Algarve. The Pool was in the last stage the strongest of a large leading group. By they second stage win in the Algarve, he takes in extremis also the victory of his team mate Geraint Thomas. Serge Pauwels finished handsome third in the final stage.

The riders were excited under the Portuguese sun. A large group of 31 riders went there early of course. Belgium was well represented with Philippe Gilbert and Serge Pauwels. Also top riders like Zdenek Stybar and Michal Kwiatkowski were. There was continually attacked in the leading group, but only Stybar hit the road. The Czech had at the foot of the 3 kilometer long final climb with a lead of half a minute on the chasing group.

But there they gave is not won. At the foot of the final climb put Kwiatkowski early on. Pauwels tried to follow, but that did not work. Kwiatkowski went on and on Stybar, on the way to the victory.

The Pool came solo and was booked as his 2nd stage win in the Algarve, for Guerreiro and Pauwels. The ex-world champion savours the victory from Geraint Thomas, who, with the peloton almost 2 minutes lost.

– Results stage 5 –

01. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) – 173 km in 4u18’02”

02. Ruben Guerreiro (Por) – 4”

03. Serge Pauwels – 8”

04. Stefan Küng (Swi) – 13”

05. Cesare Benedetti (Ita) – 15”

06. Dion Smith (Aus) – 17”

07. Simon Geschke (Ger)

08. Julen Amezqueta (Spa) – 23”

09. Ben Swift (GBr) – 29”

10. Frederik Backaert – 35”

– Gc –

01. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) – in 18u54’11”

02. Geraint Thomas (GBr) – at 1’31”

03. Tejay van Garderen (USA) – 2’16”

04. Bauke Mollema (Ned) – 2’22”

05. Bob Jungels (Lux) – 2’33”

06. Jaime Roson (Spa) – 2’49”

07. Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) – 2’50”

08. Serge Pauwels

09. Felix Grossschartner (Oos) – 2’51”

10. Nelson Oliveira (Por) – 2’54”

Leave a Comment