Cycling Sports

Wout Poels wins the second stage at the Ruta del Sol, Tim Wellens can attack uphill, not cashing

df421c17fceae032f7f4b64763d8dc76 - Wout Poels wins the second stage at the Ruta del Sol, Tim Wellens can attack uphill, not cashing

The 30-year-old Dutchman Wout Poels (Team Sky) last Thursday, a double win beaten in the second stage of the 64th Tour of Andalusia (cat. 2.BC). He won the ride on the top of the steep Alto de las Allanadas, and conquered the leader’s jersey. After 140 km from Otura to La Guardia de Jaén had Poels on the final climb with two seconds on the Spaniard Luis Leon Sanchez and Tim Wellens.

The Spaniard Mikel Landa was on four seconds and a fourth, just for the Dane Jakob Fuglsang. Brit Chris Froome was 27 seconds to admit his team-mate Poels, but was still seventh. Jelle Vanendert finished second Belgian at 38 seconds in tenth place.

Poels takes the leader’s jersey from Frenchman Thomas Boudat, that Wednesday, one of the favourites won. Leon Sanchez and Wellens are also in the position of the second and third at two seconds from Poels.

The second stage at the Ruta del Sol was only 140 miles long, but the arrival of over 1,000 meters on the Alto de las Allanadas promised or fireworks. A group of eight riders formed the early flight. Among them, the Belgian neo pro Aaron Verwilst (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise), active was the tussenspurts. The Spaniard Diego Rubio would be the last of the escapees would be on the steep final climb of three kilometres, with rates of up to 20 percent. On that trial conducted Astana the pace high on in the service of Fuglsang. He was the first of the gc riders who went on the attack and provoked a response from Wellens. The climber of Lotto Soudal placed afterwards on its own a second shot, but he was a half kilometres from the finish, which Poels and his winning jump was placed.

Friday is the back to the sprinters in the Ruta del Sol. The third stage between Mancha Real and Herrera (166,1 km) is the flattest ride in line in this Spanish stage race. .


1. Wout Poels

2. Luis Leon Sanchez

3. Tim Wellens

4. Mikel Landa

5. Jakob Fuglsang

6. Marc Soler

7. Chris Froome

8. Mikel Bizkarra

9. Amaro Antunes

10. Jelle Vanendert

Leave a Comment