Cycling Sports

McCarthy’s right Viviani in Australia, Devenyns is handsome fourth

3726ed5bf1291dd2fad0a75211cf04b0 - McCarthy's right Viviani in Australia, Devenyns is handsome fourth

Jay McCarthy (Bora-hansgrohe), the Cadel Evans Road Race (Aus/World Tour) on his name. The thuisrijder took it after 164 km in Geelong in the sprint ahead of Italian Elia Viviani (Quick Step Floors) and the South African Daryl Impey. Dries Devenyns was the first fellow countryman in fourth place.

After the Tour down Under got the pack Sunday, a second course of World Tourniveau, however, only the fourth edition of the contest, dished up and that at temperatures that are 40 degrees more than exceeded. That did that still not many riders wanted to show it at the start and tried to slide in the early flight.

Finally managed to five riders in that structure are: Robbert De Greef (Roompot), Pavel Kochetskov (Katusha-Alpecin), Alexander Porter, Sam Welsford (national selection) and Lasse Norman Hansen (Aqua Blue Sport). Up they got 6:30 bonus of the peloton and the last of three escapees on the local circuit were caught by a thinned out peloton, some 15 km from the end..

On local circuit the riders had to again and again about the Challambra Crescent, the opportunity to rush out of the peloton, where LottoNL-Jumbo, the pace held high. A group of nine did so also in: Daniel Oss and Jay McCarthy (Bora-hansgrohe), George Bennnett and Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo), Esteban Chaves and Daryl Impey (Mitchelton – Scott), Simon Gerrans (BMC), Pierre Latour (AG2R) and belgian Dries Devenyns (Quick Step Floors).

A nice group, but with a few quick names, so ventured Pierre Latour his chance, but Oss provided good work for his new employer, Bora-Hansgrohe and brought the Frenchman back. The peloton, or what still remained, followed, and in the meantime only about 15 seconds and was quickly approaching. The signal for Esteban Chaves to gear to place 3 km from the end. The Colombian sprokkelde only a 50 meter bonus under the vod of the last km and that would not suffice to cheer. The group of eight, meanwhile, also the peloton cold rolled over him at about 750 metres, in the sprint took McCarthey for Viviani and Impey.

For the 25-year-old Australian is the second victory among the pros, after a victory in the Tour Down Under in 2016. He follows the hall of fame Nikias Arndt.

– Rash –

1. Jay McCarthy (Aus/BOH) in 4: 04:00 (avg. 40,32 km/h)

2. Elia Viviani (Ita/QST) 0:00

3. Daryl Impey (ZAf/MTS) 0:00

++ 4. Dries Devenyns (Bel/QST) 0:00

5. Simon Gerrans (Aus/BMC) 0:00

6. Nikias Arndt (Germany/SUN) 0:00

7. Steele Von Hoff (Aus/AUS) 0:00

8. Maurits Lammertink (Ned/TKA) 0:00

9. Enrico Battaglin (Ita/TLJ) 0:00

10. Lars Bak (Den/LTS) 0:00

11. Robert Gesink (Ned/TLJ) 0:00

12. Owain Doull (GBr/SKY) 0:00

13. Pierre Latour (Fra/ALM) 0:00

14. Koen de Kort (Ned/TFS) 0:00

++ 15. Maarten Wynants (Bel/TLJ) 0:00

16. Cameron Meyer (Aus/MTS) 0:00

17. José Goncalves (Por/TKA) 0:00

18. Mikaël Chérel (Fra/ALM) 0:00

++ 19. Bjorg Lambrecht (Bel/LTS) 0:00

20. Ruben Guerreiro (Por/TFS) 0:00

Leave a Comment