Cycling Sports

Toms Skujins picks up the flowers on the island, Tim Wellens first Belgian

The Note Toms Skujins has the Trofeo Lloseta – Andratx to his name, the third race of the Mallorca Challenge. The cyclist from Pull-Segafredo came solo, for Gregor Mülhberger (BORA-hansgrohe) and Elmar Reinders (Roompot). Our compatriot Tim Wellens was the first Belgian on a seventh place. Friday won Wellens already the second match on Mallorca.

In this third race of the Mallorca Challenge got the pack just like Friday, a hilly course for me). The initial phase of the course was animated by numerous attack attempts. Finally, a group of three to escape. Preben Van Hecke, who is also in the Trofeo went along with the early flight, Daniel Turek, and Elie Gesbert jumps away. Up to collected them a bonus of three minutes.

The wind was in the pack already arrived in several pieces shattered and we got a small group of pursuers. Long would the escape not to take, 60 km from the end, the trio was already mounted. Then ventured to Michael Gogl his chance and he sprokkelde 1 minute bonus on a pack that in the meantime it was reduced to about 30 pieces, and where Lotto Soudal, the command is carried out.

Also, that group would be reduced by numerous attacks and eventually would eleven riders chasing Gogl which is 10 km from the end was still 25 seconds ahead. In that elitegroepje: Moscon, Valverde and Wellens that Friday, the contest became, and also Bauke Mollema. It was eventually quite unknown Note Toms Skujins, who managed to escape after Gogl was picked up.

Seven kilometres long he fought against the wind and despite a counter attack from the duo Pöstlberger-Reinders, would he not more bijgebeend. It is for the 26-year-old Let his fourth profzege. Last year he won the second stage in the International Wielerweek Coppi e Bartali (2.1), and he triumphed both in 2016, and in 2015 will be a stage in the Tour of California. There he was last year made a spectacular fall and had to be out of the contest with a concussion and broken collarbone.


1. Toms Skujins (Pull-Segafredo)

2. Gregor Mülhberger (BORA-hansgrohe)

3. Elmar Reinders (Roompot)

4. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)

5. Pim Ligthart (Roompot)

6. Eduard Prades (Euskadi)

7. Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal)

8. Gianni Moscon (Team Sky)

9. Vicente Garcia de Mateos (Selection, Spain)

10. Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)

Leave a Comment