Motorsport Sports

Carlos Sainz and Matthias Walkner cross race Dakar on bag

54faace2e1ca77c842f1555e1e2b4989 - Carlos Sainz and Matthias Walkner cross race Dakar on bag

The 55-year-old Spaniard Carlos Sainz (Peugeot) Saturday of the race in the 39th Dakar rally on bag. When the motorcyclists went to the 31-year-old Austrian Matthias Walkner (KTM) with the victory to get.

In the fourteenth and last stage, about 120 kilometers with start and arrival in the Argentine Cordoba, finished Sainz, the ninth, at 3:19 of the South African winner Giniel De Villiers, who is a Toyota of the Belgian Overdrive controlled. The Frenchman Stéphane Peterhansel (Peugeot) was 40 seconds, the second, the Qatarees Nasser-Al-Ittayah (Toyota) at 41 seconds of the third. Tom Colsoul and finished as a co-rider of the Pole Jakub Przygonski (Mini) at 2:11 as the sixth.

De Villiers gave Overdrive the sixth stage win in this Dakar. Al-Attiyah took there, four of which are for the account (1st, 3rd, 12th and 13th ride), Dutchman Bernhard ten Brinke won the eleventh stage. The other seven stage wins were for Peugeot, one stage was canceled.

Second victory Sainz

In the end position has Sainz 43:40 Al-Attiyah and 1u16:41 on De Villiers. Defending champion and dertienvoudig eindlaureaat Peterhansel ran aground just beside the stage. He was fourth on 1u25:29. Przygonski and Colsoul ended 2u45:24 just in the top five.

For Sainz, it is the second victory. In 2010 he won the former world champion rally (1990 and 1992) the monsterrally a first time. Also Al-Ittayah and De Villiers put their name on the hall of fame. Al-Ittayah won in 2011 and 2015. De Villiers continued in 2009 the first edition on South American soil to his hand.

First for Walkner

At the motorcycle riders should Walkner, last year’s second, his first victory to celebrate. The Argentinian Kevin Benavides (Honda) ran aground at 16:53. Australian Toby Price is at 23:01 third. Benavides was the fastest in the final stage. Price was at 54 seconds of the second, the Frenchman Antoine Meo at 2:49 third and Walkner at 5:38 eighth.

For the Austrian manufacturer KTM is already the seventeenth victory in a row at the Dakar. On the roll of honour follows Walkner his British team-mate Sam Sunderland. Who had this once after a crash in the fourth stage soon drop out.

Leave a Comment