Cycling Sports

Again, nothing to do: Van der Poel solos in the absence of van Aert for the win in Essen

15a02e9276f0836b635088e67a5e9f5d - Again, nothing to do: Van der Poel solos in the absence of van Aert for the win in Essen

Mathieu Van der Poel has, not surprisingly, the cyclocross Essen won. That was the fourth round in the DVV Trophy. The Dutchman was again outstanding, and rode solo across the finish line. In the absence of Wout van Aert sped Laurens Sweeck to a second place, to Show Aerts and Corné van Kessel.

Relive the cross here!

None Of Aert in Essen for the world champion of staying this weekend, even in the Spanish Calpe. The man from Lille had the three previous editions in Essen won, and so smoke From der Poel are likely to get a first time win. Tom Meeusen was the fastest starter but Van der Poel fell in the first round, immediately the reins. Aerts and Meeusen were initially the only ones who could follow the technical pieces of the soggy trail.

Meeusen rode alone to the top but to bounce back against a pole. Van der Poel grabbed 15 bonificatieseconden, while Sweeck the gap bridged to the Dutchman, and Aerts. Van der Poel was screaming in the third something to his mechanics. He wanted less pressure in the tires so it will be better by the meadows and modderstroken could, although that fietswissel never came…

A lap later drove the European champion despite the strong Sweeck metres per metre from the wheel. Behind this duo reason teammates Aerts and Van Kessel on a half of a minute. Sweeck continued to be long to the rekker hang but was eventually folds. Van der Poel was already too strong for the opposition and won for the first time in Essen.

The Dutchman remains a good leader in the position of the DVV Trophy, for Lars van der haar. Sweeck was an excellent second, Aerts loved Kessel of the stage, and Van der haar was fifth.


1. Mathieu van der Poel in 1u00’28”

2. Laurens Sweeck +23”

3. Toon Aerts +42”

4. Corné van Kessel +49”

5. Lars van der haar +1’04”

Stand DVV Trophy:

1. Mathieu van der Poel in 4u02’55”

2. Lars van der haar +3’03”

3. Toon Aerts +3’15”

4. Michael Vanthourenhout +4’31”

5. Corné van Kessel +5’19”

Leave a Comment