Sports Tennis

American tennissters win Fed Cup first time since 2000

48ab85dc494b152ada736f3656d14264 - American tennissters win Fed Cup first time since 2000

The American tennissters have Sunday for the first time since 2000, the Fed Cup won. In the final in Minsk they beat belarus with 3-2. Shelby Rogers and CoCo Vandeweghe were in the deciding doubles match in 1 hour and 53 minutes, 6-3, 7-6 (7/3) to big for Aryna Sabalenka and Aliaksandra Sasnovich. It is the eighteenth time that the title to the United States, and no country is doing better.

Belarus was for the first time in the final. That brought a lot more excitement than we anticipated. In the first match lost to Sasnovich (WTA 87) Saturday with twice 6-4 of Vandeweghe (WTA-10), but Sabalenka (WTA 78) brought belarus alongside with 6-3, 3-6, 6-4 victory against Stephens (WTA 13). Sunday continued Vandeweghe of the USA lead by Sabalenka with a 7-6 (7/5) 6-1 defeat. Sasnovich made it again exciting with a 4-6, 6-1, 8-6 victory against Stephens. In the deciding doubles match remained the stunt, however.

Vandeweghe was the architect of the American success. The 25-year-old American with Belgian roots, the whole year undefeated, remained in the Fed Cup. The Czech Petra Kvitova in 2011 was the last player the whole year through without any loss in the nations cup.

The United States won the Fed Cup earlier in 1963, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1986, 1989, 1990, 1996, 1999 and 2000. Since that last victory (with Lindsay Davenport, Monica Seles, Jennifer Capriati and Lisa Raymond), they were still three times losing finalist.


Leave a Comment